Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Following are the dictionaries and encyclopedias we have that are useful for research in medicine.
Encyclopedias can be a great source of background information for your topic and can help you find words to use for further research.
You will find books with Reference in front of the call number on the 2nd floor of the UCSB Library in the reference section across from the Ocean Elevators. Online resources are available on campus, or off-campus for current students, staff, and faculty.
The ADA Practical Guide to Substance Use Disorders and Safe Prescribing by
Dentists have been inundated by patients with an array of complicated medical conditions and pain/sedation management issues. This is in addition to a variety of legal regulations dentists must follow regarding the storage and recordkeeping of controlled substances. Avoid unknowingly putting your practice at risk by becoming victim to a scam or violating a recordkeeping requirement with The ADA Practical Guide to Substance Use Disorders and Safe Prescribing. This Practical Guide is ideal for dentists and staff as they navigate: * Detecting and deterring substance use disorders (SUD) and drug diversion in the dental office (drug-seeking patients) * Prescribing complexities * Treating patients with SUD and complex analgesic and sedation (pain/sedation management) needs and the best use of sedation anxiety medication * Interviewing and counselling options for SUD * Federal drug regulations Commonly used illicit, prescription, and over-the-counter drugs, as well as alcohol and tobacco, are also covered. Special features include: * Clinical tools proven to aid in the identification, interviewing, intervention, referral and treatment of SUD * Basic elements of SUD, acute pain/sedation management, and drug diversion * Summary of evidence-based literature that supports what, when and how to prescribe controlled substances to patients with SUD * Discussion of key federal controlled substance regulations that frequently impact dental practitioners * Checklists to help prevent drug diversion in dental practices * Chapter on impaired dental professionals * Case studies that examine safe prescribing and due diligence
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 9781118925270Publication Date: 2015-05-06
Burger's Medicinal Chemistry, Drug Discovery, and Development, Set by
Now in its seventh edition, Burger's Medicinal Chemistry, Drug Discovery and Development provides an established, recognized, authoritative and comprehensive source on medicinal chemistry and drug discovery and development. This flagship reference for medicinal chemists and pharmaceutical professions has been thoroughly updated and expanded across 8 volumes to incorporate the entire process of drug development (preclinical testing, clinical trials, etc.) alongside the traditional strengths in medicinal chemistry and drug discovery.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 9780471266945Publication Date: 2003-04-02
Concise Encyclopedia of Biostatistics for Medical Professionals by
Concise Encyclopedia of Biostatistics for Medical Professionals focuses on conceptual knowledge and practical advice rather than mathematical details, enhancing its usefulness as a reference for medical professionals. The book defines and describes nearly 1000 commonly and not so commonly used biostatistical terms and methods arranged in alphabetical order. These range from simple terms, such as mean and median to advanced terms such as multilevel models and generalized estimating equations. Synonyms or alternative phrases for each topic covered are listed with a reference to the topic.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 9781482243888Publication Date: 2016-11-25
Concise Medical Dictionary by
Written by a team of medical experts, this market-leading illustrated dictionary contains 12,400 authoritative entries covering all aspects of medical science. The text has been fully revised and updated for this new edition to reflect the very latest in medical knowledge and practice. Entriesare accessible and jargon-free and are complemented by over 145 illustrations and diagrams.This brand new edition includes over 450 new entries and features up-to-date coverage of public health medicine and general practice, drugs and pharmacology, endocrinology (particularly diabetology), and cardiology, amongst other specialist areas. Recommended web links are provided for many entries,accessible and kept up to date via the Medical Dictionary Companion website, and appendices have been expanded to include units of alcohol and the calculation of alcohol by volume, and a table of inherited medical conditions.Selling over a million copies in previous editions, this is an essential A-Z for students and those working in the medical and allied professions, including nurses, pharmacists, physiotherapists, social workers, hospital administrators, and medical secretaries. It is also an invaluable homereference guide for the general reader.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 9780199687817Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Encyclopaedia of the History of Science, Technology, and Medicine in Non-Western Cultures by Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 9400739346Publication Date: 2018
Encyclopedia and Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, and Allied Health by
The Miller-Keane Encyclopedia & Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, & Allied Health is highly regarded for its accuracy, the clinical usefulness of its entries, and its multidisciplinary approach that encompasses current topics across the entire spectrum of health care. Trademark features include comprehensive encyclopedic entries, portable size, soft cover, printed thumb tabs, unique "Windows" essays, and a color A&P atlas. Organized by major terms with related terms defined as subentries, Miller-Keane's organization provides easy access to information on a variety of closely related topics in one location. Encyclopedic entries are included for significant topics, such as diseases, disorders, or conditions. These encyclopedic entries include the definition along with a concise overview of the most important information related to Symptoms, Treatment, Patient Care, Prevention, etc. Miller-Keane also includes an extensive list of appendices. Dorland's spellchecker software and a companion Evolve website supplement this edition making it a powerful tool to building and using a medical vocabulary for all health professionals. Includes more than 40,000 terms. Entries are either main entries or subentries. Subentries are compound terms that are based on the main entry, (i.e. myocardial is a main entry; myocardial infarction would be a subentry). Windows boxes throughout feature distinguished leaders in the health sciences who expand on the entries. Pronunciation guides enhance verbal communication skills. Tables provide at-a-glance information on a variety of subjects such as insurance-related terms, abbreviations used in health care reform, and many other topics. The vocabulary of the Unified Nursing Language System (UNLS), including NANDA, NIC, NOC, and the Omaha system provides a quick reference for standardized nursing languages. 14 Appendices present important info in a concise, easy-to-use format. Approximately 3,900 new terms provide extensive coverage for all areas of nursing, medicine, and allied health. Smaller trim size (5 ½ x 8 ½) and soft cover enhance portability and ease of use. New NANDA information has been incorporated throughout. New hot topics, such as HIPPA and SARS, added. An updated 32-page full color atlas of human anatomy and an expanded 8-page full color atlas of common disorders provide detailed visual references. Medical spellchecker CD-ROM, packaged with each copy of the text, includes more than 275,000 medical, nursing, and health professions terms. This has been updated for compatibility with the most recent operating systems in use. Appendix 14-3 has been updated to include new interventions from the most current NIC and definitions for each intervention are now included
Call Number: Reference R121 .M65 2003 (Print Resource)ISBN: 1416026045Publication Date: 2005-02-23The Encyclopedia of Addictive Drugs by Describes numerous drugs of abuse, including both pharmaceutical and natural products. Begins with a discussion of federal drug scheduling and drug categories. Individual drug descriptions include: correct pronunciation, nicknames or street names, legal status, historical and present uses and misuses, abuse factors, interactions with other drugs, and findings of cancer risks and birth defects
Call Number: RM316 .M555 2002 (Print and Electronic Resource)ISBN: 9780313076954Publication Date: 2002
Encyclopedia of Aging and Public Health by
People are living longer, and the elder population is growing larger. To meet the ongoing need for quality information on elder health, this book combines multiple perspectives to offer readers a more accurate and complete picture of the aging process. The book takes a biopsychosocial approach to the complexities of its subject, and all chapters and entries include references and resource lists. The book includes entries on not-quite-elders' concerns (e.g., midlife crisis, menopause). The Encyclopedia has been developed for maximum utility to clinicians, social workers, researchers, and public health professionals working with older adults.
Call Number: RA564.8 .E63 2007 (Print and Electronic Resource)ISBN: 0387337547Publication Date: 2007-11-29
Encyclopedia of AIDS by
For the first time, the world's experts in HIV-AIDS have come together to publish the Encyclopedia of AIDS. The work features over 4,000 A-Z entries including medical, cultural, social, and pharmacological essays. The Pathology entries cover the various types of HIV-related illnesses, including those that are and are not AIDS-defining. Many of the conditions that are AIDS-defining illnesses have their own entries or are cross-referenced to a generic entry in which several related conditions are discussed (such as enteric diseases and fungal infections). Typically, the treatment of any given form of pathology is briefly discussed in the entry that covers that illness. The reference is a must-read for Infectious Disease specialists, Immunologists, Public Health researchers, Virologists, Microbiologists, Pharmacologists, and Physicians
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 9781493971015Publication Date: 2018
Encyclopedia of Behavioral Medicine by Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 9783030399030Publication Date: 2020
Encyclopedia of Biostatistics by
The first edition of the Encyclopedia of Biostatistics proved an outstanding achievement in scientific publishing. A truly international work, its coverage ranges through statistical issues pertinent to life scientists, healthcare professionals and practising statisticians. Wiley is now pleased to announce the Second Edition of this landmark reference work publishing in February 2005. Drawing on the expertise of the original editorial team the new edition will be revised and expanded to provide, in particular, up-to-date material on bio-informatics and statistical genetics. This major publication is easily accessible for all those involved in statistical activities in medicine and health sciences, from health professionals who are not highly trained in statistics, through to fully qualified and experienced statisticians. For further information on this new edition please visit: www.wileyeurope.com/go/eob Reviews of the First Edition "...a resource beyond compare...the author index reads like a contemporary Who's Who...nothing in biostatistics is left uncovered...unsurpassed in quality and quantity" --British Medical Journal "An unsurpassed addition to the statistical literature ...The present scope of statistics in medical research is nowhere more manifest ...the coverage is breathtaking" --International Journal of Epidemiology
Call Number: RA409 .E53 2005 (Print and Electronic Resource)ISBN: 9780470849071Publication Date: 2005-04-01
Encyclopedia of Cancer by
This work comprehensively describes etiological factors in the development , Progression and metastasis of human cancers, both for hematological malignancies and for solid Tumors
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 9783662468753Publication Date: 2020
Encyclopedia of Foods: A Guide to Healthy Nutrition
The Encyclopedia of Foods: A Guide to Healthy Nutrition is a definitive resource for what to eat for maximum health as detailed by medical and nutritional experts. This book makes the connection between health, disease, and the food we eat. The Encyclopedia describes more than 140 foods, providing information on their history, nutrient content, and medical uses. The Encyclopedia also describes the "fit kitchen", including the latest in food safety, equipment and utensils for preparing fit foods, and ways to modify favorite recipes to ensure health and taste. Details healthy eating guidelines based on the RDA food pyramid Provides scientific basis and knowledge for specific recommendations Beautifully illustrated Extensive list of reliable nutrition resources Describes the fit kitchen from the latest in food safety to equipment and utensils for preparing fit foods to ways to modify favorite recipes to ensure health and taste
Call Number: TX349 .E475 2002 (Print and Electronic Resource)ISBN: 9780080530871Publication Date: 2002-01-13
The Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders and Birth Defects, Third Edition by
Offers lay readers and professionals alike a reference to congenital disorders and birth defects. This volume contains more than 1,000 entries, appendixes providing tables of statistics and directories of service and support groups, and an introductory history of human genetics.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 9781438120959Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Encyclopedia of Health and Aging by
The Encyclopedia of Health and Aging presents state-of-the-art research and ready-to-use facts on health and aging. This one-volume resource captures some of the excitement of the research in the field in terms of new findings as well as conceptual developments guiding research, practice, and policy. With more than 200 entries, it covers the biological, psychological, social, and economic aspects of health and aging and impacts within the health-care system. This Encyclopedia also focuses heavily on geriatrics with respect to geriatric syndromes and common diseases of aging.
Call Number: Reference RA777.6 .E534 2007 (Print Resource)ISBN: 9781412909495Publication Date: 2007-04-13
Encyclopedia of Health and Behavior by
This Encyclopedia was designed with the overarching goal to collect together in a single resource the knowledge generated by this interdisciplinary field, highlighting the links between science and practice. In it, scholars, health care practitioners and the general public will find a wealth of information on topics such as physical activity, stress and health, smoking, pain management, social support and health, cardiovascular health, health promotion, and HIV/AIDS. This two-volume set includes more than 200 entries on topics covering all aspects of health and behavior. In addition, the Encyclopedia of Health and Behavior includes a comprehensive set of additional resources with entries on selected organizations and an appendix with a detailed annotated listing of such organizations as well as Web sites of interest.
Call Number: Reference R726.5 .E53 2004 (Print Resource)ISBN: 0761923608Publication Date: 2004-01-21
Encyclopedia of Immigrant Health by
There is increasing interest in the scientific literature on immigrant health and its impact on disease transmission, disease prevention, health promotion, well-being on an individual and population level, health policy, and the cost of managing all these issues on an individual, institutional, national, and global level. The need for accurate and up-to-date information is particularly acute due to the increasing numbers of immigrants and refugees worldwide as the result of natural disasters, political turmoil, the growing numbers of immigrants to magnet countries, and the increasing costs of associated health care that are being felt by governments around the world. Format and Scope: The first portion of the encyclopedia contains chapters that are approximately 25 to 40 manuscript pages in length. Each overview chapter includes a list of references and suggested readings for cross referencing within the encyclopedia. The opening chapters are: Immigration in the Global Context, Immigration Processes and Health in the U.S.: A Brief History, Alternative and Complementary Medicine, Culture-Specific Diagnoses, Health Determinants, Occupational and Environmental Health, Methodological Issues in Immigrant Health Research, Ethical Issues in Research with Immigrants and Refugees, Ethical Issues in the Clinical Context. The second portion of the book consists of alphabetical entries that relate to the health of immigrants. Entries are interdisciplinary and are drawn from the following fields of study: anthropology, demographics, history, law, linguistics, medicine, population studies, psychology, religion, and sociology. Each entry is followed by a listing of suggested readings and suggested resources, and also links to related terms within the whole book. Outstanding Features The book adopts a biopsychosocial-historical approach to the topics covered in the chapters and the entries. Each entry includes suggested readings and suggested resources. The chapters and entries are written graduate level that is accessible to all academics, researchers, and professionals from diverse backgrounds. We consider the audience for the entries to be well educated, but a non expert in this area. The primary focus of the book is on the immigrant populations in and immigration to magnet countries. References are made to worldwide trends and issues arising globally. In addition to the comprehensive subject coverage the text also offers diverse perspectives. The editors themselves reflect the multidisciplinary nature of the topics, with expertise in psychiatry, law, epidemiology, anthropology, and social work. Authors similarly reflect diverse disciplines.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 9781441956590Publication Date: 2014-06-20
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
Wiley is pleased to announce the recent acquisition of the prestigious Encyclopedia of Life Sciences (ELS) from the Nature Publishing Group. "The most ambitious single source reference source ever produced in the biological sciences" --American Reference Books Annual Spanning the entire spectrum of life science research, the Encyclopedia features more than 3,000 specially commissioned and peer-reviewed articles. These concentrate primarily on the molecular and cellular life sciences, including biochemical topics, methods and techniques. Applied areas of science are also included on a selective basis, as are biographies and general interest articles on ethics and the history of science. Articles are divided into three categories indicating their level of complexity: Introductory articles ELS features more than 1,400 introductory level articles. These have been written primarily for undergraduates and non-specialists requiring the basic concepts of a particular subject. Scientists and researchers looking to extend their knowledge outside their own specific field of interest will also find these articles useful. Advanced articles Over 1,800 advanced articles provide more detailed discussions of specialised subjects, at a level equivalent to that found in graduate level texts. Keynote articles Written by leading international scientists, these keynote articles cover hot topics and controversial issues. All articles have been rigorously peer-reviewed and edited prior to publication by an international Editorial Advisory Board of 180 subject specialist advisors. Most articles are accompanied by colour illustrations and tables, with appendix and glossary material providing essential information for the non-specialist, including biochemical and taxonomic information, acronyms/synonyms, units and other technical data. "In particular, the illustrations are excellent..." --Microbiology Today The ELS provides an excellent source of information for undergraduates, graduates, post-graduates, teachers/lecturers as well as professionals and researchers working in the biomedical sciences and related areas. Although chapters on more complex subjects have been written primarily for those with a scientific background, unnecessary technical jargon is avoided, enabling the material to be accessed by the non-specialist. "This resource is a must-have for all biological sciences libraries and most larger academic and public libraries. It will be used often by undergraduate and graduate biology students, scientists, researchers, professors and government employees and journalists." --American Reference Books Annual
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 9780470016176Publication Date: 2001-
Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology: Health and Illness in the World's Cultures by
Medical practitioners and the ordinary citizen are becoming more aware that we need to understand cultural variation in medical belief and practice. The more we know how health and disease are managed in different cultures, the more we can recognize what is "culture bound" in our own medical belief and practice. The Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology is unique because it is the first reference work to describe the cultural practices relevant to health in the world's cultures and to provide an overview of important topics in medical anthropology. No other single reference work comes close to marching the depth and breadth of information on the varying cultural background of health and illness around the world. More than 100 experts - anthropologists and other social scientists - have contributed their firsthand experience of medical cultures from around the world.
Call Number: RA418 .E354 2004 (Print Resource)ISBN: 0306477548Publication Date: 2003-12-31
Encyclopedia of Medical Immunology by Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 1461492092Publication Date: 2019
Encyclopedia of Molecular Pharmacology by
This essential text provides rapid access to information on molecular pharmacology for research scientists, clinicians and advanced students. With the A-Z format of over 2,000 entries, around 350 authors provide a complete reference to the area of molecular pharmacology. The book combines the knowledge of classic pharmacology with the more recent approach of the precise analysis of the molecular mechanisms by which drugs exert their effects. Short keyword entries define common acronyms, terms and phrases. In addition, detailed essays provide in-depth information on drugs, cellular processes, molecular targets, techniques, molecular mechanisms, and general principles.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 9783540389163Publication Date: 2020
Encyclopedia of Neuroscience by
This 5000-page masterwork is literally the last word on the topic and will be an essential resource for many. Unique in its breadth and detail, this encyclopedia offers a comprehensive and highly readable guide to a complex and fast-expanding field. The five-volume reference work gathers more than 10,000 entries, including in-depth essays by internationally known experts, and short keynotes explaining essential terms and phrases. In addition, expert editors contribute detailed introductory chapters to each of 43 topic fields ranging from the fundamentals of neuroscience to fascinating developments in the new, inter-disciplinary fields of Computational Neuroscience and Neurophilosophy. Some 1,000 multi-color illustrations enhance and expand the writings.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 9783540237358Publication Date: 2008-10-13
The Encyclopedia of Nutrition and Good Health by
The Encyclopedia of Nutrition and Good Health, Second Edition is the authoritative A-to-Z guide to all aspects of nutrition and maintaining a healthy diet. Thoroughly updated, it examines the latest advances in the field, including revised government guidelines and requirements - like the new folate enrichment laws - and new research - for example, the discovery of a link between colon cancer and preserved meats but not fresh meats. Concise and extensively cross-referenced, It is the perfect one-stop guide to the often-confusing mass of nutritional information available today. More than 2,500 entries provide the essential information readers will want to know about nutrition and good health. Covering food ingredients such as vitamins, minerals, fats, carbohydrates, and proteins; the health benefits and dangers of foods; diseases and health disorders related to nutrition; processed foods and their side effects; the link between certain foods and cancer; food allergies; eating disorders; and much more, this edition is comprised of approximately 30 percent of new material, including several new appendixes.
Call Number: Reference RA784 .R646 2003 (Print Resource)ISBN: 0816049661Publication Date: 2003-08-01
The Encyclopedia of Obesity and Eating Disorders by
The Encyclopedia of Obesity and Eating Disorders, Third Edition is more relevant now than ever before. Presently, almost two-thirds of American adults are overweight and 31 percent are obese. Eating disorders are now affecting a wider range of the population, particularly with increased diagnoses in men and boys, and the anti-carb craze has swept the country with potentially long-lasting ramifications for health and diet. New research has identified significant cultural and racial factors connected to obesity and eating disorders, and new products, such as ""neutriceuticals,"" have hit the market, contributing to misconceptions and uncertainty about healthy diets. This revised and expanded edition includes more than 400 entries, more than 140 of them new. The new and revised entries include advertising and obesity, biotech foods, calorie restriction (CR) diet, dietary supplements, employees with eating disorders, infant eating disorders, mind hunger, net carbs, pro-ana movement, purging disorder, schools and obesity, and twin studies and eating disorders.
Call Number: Reference RC552.E18 C37 2006 (Print Resource)ISBN: 0816061971Publication Date: 2006-05-01
Encyclopedia of Pain by
The Encyclopedia of Pain includes more than 3,000 entries and provides clear, detailed and up-to-date coverage of the current state of research, and treatment of pain. In addition, detailed essays provide in-depth information on all aspects of nociception and pain, including substrates, causes, pathophysiology, symptoms and signs, diagnoses and treatment. A thousand color figures enhance understanding of this too-little-understood topic. The book is available in print, in online only form, or in a print-online bundle.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 9783642287534Publication Date: 2013-12-11
Encyclopedia of Primary Prevention and Health Promotion by
Public Health is one of the fastest growing university programs in the United States today. At the same time, the challenges that face the practitioner continue to grow and become more complex. This Encyclopedia of Primary Prevention and Health Promotion, 2nd ed covers more than 250 topics, taking a lifespan approach to the fields of public health and prevention. The encyclopedia is divided into four volumes: 1. Foundational Topics 2. Early Childhood and Childhood 3. Adolescence 4. Adulthood and Older Adulthood Within each volume, issues of illness prevention and health promotion (sometimes referred to as "positive psychology") are addressed in chapter-length entries arranged alphabetically. An international group of contributors synthesizes research focusing on improving the physical and mental health of the community as a whole. Each entry will have a structured format: Introduction, Definition of Terms, Prevalence, Theories, Empirical Studies, and Strategies (What Works, What Is Promising, What Doesn't Work). Each entry concludes with a look ahead to the coming decades of Public Health - what are the next steps to primary prevention and health promotion - and a "See Also" box recommending books, films, or articles by the editors for further reading. The encyclopedia is designed for practitioners, students, and researchers working in prevention, public health, and psychology. It will also serve as reference for practitioners in sociology, social work, nursing and medicine. The second edition more than doubles the number of entries in the first edition by adding entries focusing on gender, African American and Latino issues, social support, social and emotional learning, and physical health and disease. All entries from the first edition will be rewritten and expanded, reflecting the most up to date thinking in the field.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 9781461459996Publication Date: 2014-10-24
Encyclopedia of Public Health
The Encyclopedic Reference of Public Health presents the most important definitions, principles and general perspectives of public health, written by experts of the different fields. The work includes more than 2,500 alphabetical entries. Entries comprise review-style articles, detailed essays and short definitions. Numerous figures and tables enhance understanding of this little-understood topic. Solidly structured and inclusive, this two-volume reference is an invaluable tool for clinical scientists and practitioners in academia, health care and industry, as well as students, teachers and interested laypersons.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia of the Human Brain by
In the past decade, enormous strides have been made in understanding the human brain. The advent of sophisticated new imaging techniques (e.g. PET, MRI, MEG, etc.) and new behavioral testing procedures have revolutionized our understanding of the brain, and we now know more about the anatomy, functions, and development of this organ than ever before. However, much of this knowledge is scattered across scientific journals and books in a diverse group of specialties: psychology, neuroscience, medicine, etc. The Encyclopedia of the Human Brain places all information in a single source and contains clearly written summaries on what is known of the human brain. Covering anatomy, physiology, neuropsychology, clinical neurology, neuropharmacology, evolutionary biology, genetics, and behavioral science, this four-volume encyclopedia contains over 200 peer reviewed signed articles from experts around the world. The Encyclopedia articles range in size from 5-30 printed pages each, and contain a definition paragraph, glossary, outline, and suggested readings, in addition to the body of the article. Lavishly illustrated, the Encyclopedia includes over 1000 figures, many in full color. Managing both breadth and depth, the Encyclopedia is a must-have reference work for life science libraries and researchers investigating the human brain.
Call Number: QP376 .E586 2002 (Print and Electronic Resource)ISBN: 0080548032Publication Date: 2002-07-04
Encyclopedia of the Neurological Sciences by
The Encyclopedia of the Neurological Sciences explores all areas of the discipline in its 1000+ focused entries on a wide variety of topics in neurology, neurosurgery, psychiatry and other related areas of neuroscience. The concise entries are all written at a level of comprehension not previously seen in existing literature by contributing authors representing an eclectic and diverse view of all aspects of neurology from many viewpoints and disciplines to provide a complete overview of the field. The easy-to-use "encyclopedic-dictionary" format features alphabetic entries, extensive cross-referencing, and a thorough index for quick reference. The wealth of information provided by these four volumes makes for compelling reading by everyone from the academic researcher to students, to the curious lay person. An online version of the Encyclopedia of the Neurological Sciences will be available on ScienceDirect in 2004.
Call Number: Reference RC334 .E52 2003 (Print and Electronic Resource)ISBN: 0122268709Publication Date: 2003-06-17
Encyclopedia of Virology by
Encyclopedia of Virology, Third Edition continues its success as the largest single reference source of current research in virology. Unique in its use of concise "mini-review" articles, this praised work covers biological, molecular, and medical topics concerning viruses in animals, plants, bacteria and insects. Now in five volumes, this new edition has been extensively revised and updated to reflect the 50% increase in identified and accepted viruses since the year 2000. With over 25% new chapters and over 1000 illustrations, this edition takes into account the new developments in virology research by including information on new emerging diseases such as avian flu, SARS and West Nile and the ability of some viruses to be used as agents of bioterrorism. Edited by leading Virologists Mahy and van Regenmortel, this third edition remains the number one all-inclusive source of information for virology researchers, students, and reference departments of academic, medical, and corporate libraries. Extensive coverage on AIDS and HIV, viral immunology and vaccines, the economic importance and control of virus diseases, and the origin, history, evolution and phylogeny of viruses -NEW! Four color throughout -NEW! Sections on future perspectives that show the direction of current research 25% NEW articles Glossary of key terms for easy referencing Information on viruses of human clinical interest, including the virus causing SARS -NEW! More than 20% NEW virus classifications The most recent information from the 8th International Committee on Taxonomy and Classification of Viruses -NEW! Recommendations for further reading and a list of other relevant entries
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 9780123744104Publication Date: 2008-07-24
Gale Encyclopedia Alternative Medicine by
Covers all aspects of the subject including therapies, conditions/diseases, herbs/plants, and people. Identifies numerous types of alternative medicine being practiced today, including reflexology, acupressure, acupuncture, chelation therapy, kinesiology, yoga, chiropractic, Feldenkrais, polarity therapy, detoxification, naturopathy, Chinese medicine, biofeedback, Ayurveda and osteopathy.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 0787674249Publication Date: 2020-04
The Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders by
Provides clear, complete information on genetic disorders, including conditions, tests, procedures, treatments and therapies, in articles that are both comprehensive and easy to understand in language accessible to laypersons
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 9781410332813Publication Date: 2011
The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine by
Includes information on almost 2,000 medical disorders and concepts. Each article includes in-depth discussion of causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and other related topics. Written for a general audience with an authoritative tone.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 1410317390Publication Date: 2020-04
Illustrated Dictionary of Immunology by
From the beginning, immunologists have maintained a unique nomenclature that has often mystified and even baffled their colleagues in other fields, causing them to liken immunology to a black box. With more than 1200 illustrations, the Illustrated Dictionary of Immunology, Third Edition provides immunologists and nonimmunologists a single-volume resource for the many terms encountered in contemporary immunological literature. Encyclopedic in scope and including more than 1200 illustrations, the content ranges from photographs of historical figures to molecular structures of recently characterized cytokines, the major histocompatibility complex molecules, immunoglobulins, and molecules of related interest to immunologists. These descriptive illustrations provide a concise and thorough understanding of the subject. To reflect modern advances, the third edition includes entries on immunopharmacology, newly described interleukins, comparative immunology, immunity to infectious diseases, and expanded definitions in all of the immunological subspecialities. Providing unprecedented breadth and detail, this readily accessible book is not only a pictorial reference but also a primary resource.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 9780849379888Publication Date: 2009-04-20
International Encyclopedia of Public Health
An authoritative and comprehensive guide to the major issues, challenges, methods, and approaches of global public health. This encyclopedia will cover all dimensions of the field, from details of specific diseases to the organization of social insurance agencies. A significant percentage of the articles will cover public health aspects of diseases and conditions. Other articles will survey aging, diet, injuries, ethical and legal subjects in public health, measurement and modeling, consumerism, anthropology and sociology, economics, the history of public health, and global issues. Edited and written by a distinguished international group of editors and contributors Heavily illustrated and abundantly cross-referenced Via ScienceDirect platform, multimedia files will provide an enhanced online experience Includes 'Further Reading' lists at the end of each article A complete subject index contained in one volume
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2008
Magill's Medical Guide by
Covers diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, anatomy, biology, and issues in an A-Z format to address recent developments in medicine.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 9781587653841Publication Date: 2011
Medical Dictionary for the Health Professions and Nursing by
Reference Redefined. You have our word on it. Featuring more than 56,000 entries, this 7th Edition contains the medical terminology used in more than 30 of today's fastest-growing health profession areas--plus comprehensive inclusion of entries suited for the nursing field. More than 70 leading consultants from health professions and nursing contributed to the enhancements of this edition to ensure Stedman's Medical Dictionary for the Health Professions and Nursing is your go-to source for health reference. Key Features: A-to-Z organization, coupled with precision-cut thumb tabs, quickly leads you to a definition 1,000 color images and photographs enhance definitions and aid in comprehension Detailed Anatomical Atlas, included in a special glossy insert with detailed images by Anatomical Chart Company, provides a visual representation of anatomical terms Nearly 65 valuable appendices cover critical areas such as dangerous abbreviations, units of measure, references values, and much more Written pronunciations assist you in spoken communication Eye-catching icons identify terms that have printed images or are combining forms British alternative spellings are provided Also included with purchase is a free 3-month subscription to Stedman's Online, which includes all the content from the print dictionary and more- Superior keyword search functionality making accuracy instantaneous Access to more than 5,600 images illustrating key medical terms and concepts Customize the product using My Stedman's: add terms, add notes to terms, save searches and illustrations - all features to provide you with a personal experience that meets your needs Audio icons displayed alongside approximately 42,000 terms let you hear correct pronunciations 42 illuminating live-action videos from Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy present anatomy in motion
Call Number: Reference R121 .S8 2012 (Print Resource)ISBN: 9781608316922Publication Date: 2011-04-21
Oxford Dictionary of Medical Quotations by Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 0191574708Publication Date: 2004
Pharmaceutical Sciences Encyclopedia: Drug Discovery, Development, and Manufacturing by
In short, it is the one online source that you can turn to for quick, reliable information on every aspect of pharmaceutical development. This online reference combines 14 volumes (over 15,000 printed pages) of drug development content into a single eMRW. These are the Pharmaceutical Development Handbooks edited by Shayne Gad, other handbooks that include Joy Cavagnaro's "Preclinical Safety Evaluation of Biopharmaceuticals," Ala Nassar's "Drug Metabolism Handbook," and Michael Bleavins' "Biomarkers." Together, this eMRW addresses numerous the whole scope of pharmaceutical development--covering everything from drug discovery to development; pharmacokinetics, pharmacology, safety, and formulation; regulatory requirements, quality assurance, quality control; drug manufacturing; clinical trials; and biotechnology based drugs.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 9780470571224Publication Date: 2010-03-26
Professional Guide to Signs and Symptoms
Thoroughly updated and now in full color, the Sixth Edition of this comprehensive manual covers over 550 signs and symptoms. More than 300 of the most important signs and symptoms are organized alphabetically; each entry includes a description, emergency interventions (where appropriate), history and physical examination, causes, associated signs and symptoms, special considerations, pediatric pointers, geriatric pointers, and patient counseling. Over 500 illustrations, tables, and flowcharts are included. Appendices describe 250 less familiar signs and symptoms and provide English/Spanish translations of common signs and symptoms. This edition includes signs and symptoms of important emerging diseases.
Call Number: Reference RC69 .P77 2011 (Print Resource)ISBN: 9781608310982Publication Date: 2010-04-01
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary by Call Number: (Electronic Resource)ISBN: 9780803639096Publication Date: 2013-01-25
Wiley Encyclopedia of Biomedical Engineering by
A repository of the biomedical engineering (BME) knowledge base. Represents the vast diversity of the field and its multi-and cross-disciplinary nature. As a peer reviewed primer, educational material, technical reference, research and development resource, the project encompasses the "best" in terms of its intellectual substance and rigor.
Call Number: R856.A3 .W55 2006 (Print and Electronic Resource)ISBN: 9780471740360Publication Date: 2006
