Sites for finding data
- Computational Molecular Biology at NIH Tools for sequence analysis, structure analysis and systems biology, Molecular Biology Desk Reference, software repositories and more, brought to you by the National Institute of Health.
- Entrez Search all the databases by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at once, including PubMed, Nucleotide and Protein Sequences, Protein Structures, Complete Genomes, Taxonomy, and others.
- ExPASy "The ExPASy (Expert Protein Analysis System) proteomics server of the Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics (SIB) is dedicated to the analysis of protein sequences and structures as well as 2-D PAGE"
- Finding 3-D Similarities in Protein Structures Combinatorial Extension or Compound Likeness methods.
- FlyBase a database of the Drosophila genome.
- GenBank the NIH genetic sequence database, an annotated collection of all publicly available DNA sequences.
- GeneFisher Interactive PCR Primer Design Tool.
- GenomeNet guide to finding genome databases worldwide.
- Genomic Biology Genome information and research tools from the National Center for Biotechnology Information.
- KEGG Kyoto Encyclopedia of Genes and Genomes.
- Mitochondrial Proteome 2 Database for mitochondria-related genes, proteins and diseases
- Molecules to Go "Combines a full text search of the PDB database with a FORM interface to customize the format (TEXT, IMAGE, INTERACTIVE) of the selected structure." Formerly known as Molecules R Us.
- PlantsT: Functional Genomics of Plant Transporters Focuses on genes involved in transport and uptake of plant nutrients.
- Protein Data Bank "Worldwide repository of information about the 3D structures of large biological molecules, including proteins and nucleic acids."
- UniGene an experimental system for automatically partitioning GenBank sequences into a non-redundant set of gene-oriented clusters.
- WWW Promoter Scan predicts promoter regions based on scoring homologies with putative eukaryotic Pol II promoter sequences.
Other sites
- BioSpace "Biotech and pharma news and jobs"
- Intute: Biological Sciences Biology search engine (formerly known as Biome)
- NIH Center for Molecular Modeling major supplier of molecular modeling resources and expertise to the NIH research community.
- Vadlo Biomedical and life sciences search engine. Allows you to search for protocols, online tools, seminars, databases and software.
- Scitable Site geared toward undergraduates studying genetics, produced by Nature Publishing Group.
- Virtual Library on Genetics
- Bill Wasserman's Developmental Biology Page resources relating to a number of species, plus movies and animations (Loyola Univ. Chicago).
Librarian |
Chuck HuberContact Info:
Davidson Library, Room 2530
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
(805) 893-2762
huber@library.ucsb.edu
Send Email
Subjects:
Chemistry, Biochemistry, Chemical Engineering, Materials Science, Mechanical Engineering, Molecular Cellular and Developmental Biology (MCDB)
Davidson Library, Room 2530
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
(805) 893-2762
huber@library.ucsb.edu
Send Email
Subjects:
Chemistry, Biochemistry, Chemical Engineering, Materials Science, Mechanical Engineering, Molecular Cellular and Developmental Biology (MCDB)
Something missing?
Do you have a favorite MCDB-related website that you think should be included here? Click Submit a Link to let me know!
Description
Loading content... please wait




Submit a Link
Loading content... please wait