Other Resources
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Following are the dictionaries and encyclopedias we have that are useful for research in EEMB.
Encyclopedias can be a great source of background information for your topic and can help you find words to use for further research.
You will find books with Reference in front of the call number on the 2nd floor, across from the Ocean Elevators. Online resources are available on campus or off-campus for current students, staff, and faculty. Check the library location guide for book locations.
Botanical Latin
A classic primer for learning grammar, syntax, punctuation, and vocabulary, as well as fascinating information on Latinate geographical names and color terms.
Call Number: QK10 .S7 1983 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1983
A Dictionary of Zoology
This best-selling dictionary is the most comprehensive and up to date of its kind, containing over 6,000 entries on all aspects of zoology. Complemented by numerous illustrations, it includes terms from the areas of ecology, animal behaviour, evolution, earth history, zoogeography, genetics,and physiology and provides full taxonomic coverage of arthropods, other invertebrates, fish, reptiles, amphibians, birds, and mammals.The fourth edition has been fully revised and updated and includes many new entries, for example, activational effects of hormones, aqueous humour, deprivation studies, immunization, and Psocoptera. It also features new terms from anatomy and physiology, biomechanics, neurophysiology, immunology,and evolutionary development.Recommended web links can be accessed via the Dictionary of Zoology companion website and provide valuable extra information by directing you to useful online resources and the homepages of relevant organizations. Detailed appendices include a list of endangered animals, the universal genetic code,the geologic time scale, SI units, and a taxonomic classification scheme based on the three-domain taxonomic system.Wide-ranging, authoritative, and with jargon-free definitions, this dictionary is an indispensable reference tool for students and teachers of zoology, biological sciences, and biomedical sciences, and a valuable resource for naturalists and anyone with an interest in animals.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2014
eLS: Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
Wiley is pleased to announce the recent acquisition of the prestigious Encyclopedia of Life Sciences (ELS) from the Nature Publishing Group. "The most ambitious single source reference source ever produced in the biological sciences" --American Reference Books Annual Spanning the entire spectrum of life science research, the Encyclopedia features more than 3,000 specially commissioned and peer-reviewed articles. These concentrate primarily on the molecular and cellular life sciences, including biochemical topics, methods and techniques. Applied areas of science are also included on a selective basis, as are biographies and general interest articles on ethics and the history of science. Articles are divided into three categories indicating their level of complexity: Introductory articles ELS features more than 1,400 introductory level articles. These have been written primarily for undergraduates and non-specialists requiring the basic concepts of a particular subject. Scientists and researchers looking to extend their knowledge outside their own specific field of interest will also find these articles useful. Advanced articles Over 1,800 advanced articles provide more detailed discussions of specialised subjects, at a level equivalent to that found in graduate level texts. Keynote articles Written by leading international scientists, these keynote articles cover hot topics and controversial issues. All articles have been rigorously peer-reviewed and edited prior to publication by an international Editorial Advisory Board of 180 subject specialist advisors. Most articles are accompanied by colour illustrations and tables, with appendix and glossary material providing essential information for the non-specialist, including biochemical and taxonomic information, acronyms/synonyms, units and other technical data. "In particular, the illustrations are excellent..." --Microbiology Today The ELS provides an excellent source of information for undergraduates, graduates, post-graduates, teachers/lecturers as well as professionals and researchers working in the biomedical sciences and related areas. Although chapters on more complex subjects have been written primarily for those with a scientific background, unnecessary technical jargon is avoided, enabling the material to be accessed by the non-specialist. "This resource is a must-have for all biological sciences libraries and most larger academic and public libraries. It will be used often by undergraduate and graduate biology students, scientists, researchers, professors and government employees and journalists." --American Reference Books Annual
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2005
Elsevier's Dictionary of Plant Names and Their Origin
The dictionary contains about 30,000 vernacular and literary English names of plants (plus a few American), both wild and cultivated, with their botanical name and a brief account of the names' meaning if known. It was conceived as part of the author's wider interest in plant and tree lore, and ethnobotanical studies. Knowledge of plant names can give insight into largely forgotten beliefs. Why for example is, or was, the common red poppy known as "Blind Man"? An old superstition has it that if the poppy were put to the eyes it would cause blindness. Such names were probably the result of some taboo against picking the plant. Similarly, other names were likely to have been applied as a result of a country mother's warning to her children against eating poisonous berries. For the warning carries more weight when the name given to the berry reinforces the warning. Many such plants or fruits may be ascribed to the devil, Devil's Berries for Deadly Nightshade is an example. Names may also be purely descriptive, and can also serve to explain the meaning of the botanical name. Beauty-Berry is an example: it is the name given to the American shrub that belongs to the genus Callicarpa, which is made up of two Greek words that mean beauty and berry. Literary, or "book" names, have also been included in this dictionary, as being a very important part of the whole. Many of them provide links in the transmission of words through the ages. Thor's Beard, for example, is a book name for "houseleek", and has never been used in the dialect. But it highlights the legend that houseleek is a lightning plant, and by reverse logic is a preserver from fire.
Call Number: Reference QK13 .E565 2000 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2000
Encyclopedia of Animal Behavior
What is it like to be a dog, or a chimpanzee, or an ant? How do animals communicate? Why do they play? Can animals feel emotions like empathy and grief? These and many other questions are answered in the Encyclopedia of Animal Behavior, the most authoritative, comprehensive, and accessible resource on the scientific study of animal behavior. Contributors consist of an international group of well-respected animal behavior scholars and authorities from many different disciplines, including biology, psychology, anthropology, sociology, philosophy, veterinary medicine, and religious studies. Entries examine a broad array of different species and behavior patterns, using techniques that range from molecular approaches to the study of behavior to analyses of individuals, populations, species, and ecosystems. Informed by the best and most recent scholarship, entries are written with the lay public in mind, and all material is explained in understandable, jargon-free language. This user-friendly resource will appeal to students and scholars of animal behavior, animal advocates, and anyone with a love for animals. Over 200 fascinating entries on topics from Friendship in Animals to Communication Behavior in Singing Birds Over 300 photographs, charts, and diagrams that illustrate aspects of animal behavior Numerous sidebars on behaviors that help illuminate the more abstract and theoretical concepts Entries on the usefulness of animal behavior in such careers as conservation biology and animal-assisted therapy in counseling and in hospitals and hospices
Call Number: Reference QL750.3 .E53 2004 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2004
Encyclopedia of Aquaculture
A comprehensive, one-stop reference to the science, technology, and economics of aquaculture Technological advances, coupled with the mounting pressures of global food production, have dramatically changed aquaculture in recent decades. And while there has been an explosion of books and articles on its different facets, none of these provide a single comprehensive reference to this evolving and fascinating field. With an emphasis on current trends and sustainable practices, the Encyclopedia of Aquaculture presents complete A-to-Z coverage for a multitude of scientific, technical, and economic topics encompassed by the discipline. From abalone to zooplankton culture, over 150 timely and authoritative entries explore such areas as: Primary species being cultured worldwide, as well as species under development Echinoderms, molluscs, crustaceans, and finfishes Aquaculture for food, research, bait, aquariums, and endangered species recovery Management techniques for water and feed quality as well as disease control Different aquaculture systems-from pond production to marine net-pens Environmental issues and the economic feasibility of closed and offshore systems Business plans, marketing, and sales Complete with photographs, illustrations, and graphs as well as references to the extensive literature, the Encyclopedia of Aquaculture is a handy, easily accessible resource for scientists and professionals in aquaculture as well as individuals wishing to expand their knowledge of the field.
Call Number: SH20.3 .E53 2000 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2000
Encyclopedia of Aquatic Ecotoxicology
With its 104 chapters, this Encyclopedia of aquatic ecotoxicology reveals the diversity of issues, problems and challenges that have faced, and are facing today, receiving environments. It also indicates ways by which tools, strategies and future investigations can contribute to correct, minimize, solve and prevent water quality degradation. Structured homogeneously, the chapters convey salient information on historical background, features, characteristics, uses and/or applications of treated topics, often complemented by illustrations and case studies, as well as by conclusions and prospects. This work is most suitable for teaching purposes. Academics, for example, could literally deliver comprehensive lectures to students simply based on chapter outlines and contents. Meet the Authors of the Encyclopedia! Check out 'Meet the Authors' under ADDITIONAL INFORMATION (Right menu).
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2013
Encyclopedia of Biodiversity
The 7-volume Encyclopedia of Biodiversity, Second Edition maintains the reputation of the highly regarded original, presenting the most current information available in this globally crucial area of research and study. It brings together the dimensions of biodiversity and examines both the services it provides and the measures to protect it. Major themes of the work include the evolution of biodiversity, systems for classifying and defining biodiversity, ecological patterns and theories of biodiversity, and an assessment of contemporary patterns and trends in biodiversity. The science of biodiversity has become the science of our future. It is an interdisciplinary field spanning areas of both physical and life sciences. Our awareness of the loss of biodiversity has brought a long overdue appreciation of the magnitude of this loss and a determination to develop the tools to protect our future. Second edition includes over 100 new articles and 226 updated articles covering this multidisciplinary field-- from evolution to habits to economics, in 7 volumes The editors of this edition are all well respected, instantly recognizable academics operating at the top of their respective fields in biodiversity research; readers can be assured that they are reading material that has been meticulously checked and reviewed by experts Approximately 1,800 figures and 350 tables complement the text, and more than 3,000 glossary entries explain key terms
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2013
Encyclopedia of Biological Invasions
This pioneering encyclopedia illuminates a topic at the forefront of global ecology--biological invasions, or organisms that come to live in the wrong place. Written by leading scientists from around the world, Encyclopedia of Biological Invasions addresses all aspects of this subject at a global level--including invasions by animals, plants, fungi, and bacteria--in succinct, alphabetically arranged articles. Scientifically uncompromising, yet clearly written and free of jargon, the volume encompasses fields of study including biology, demography, geography, ecology, evolution, sociology, and natural history. Featuring many cross-references, suggestions for further reading, illustrations, an appendix of the world's worst 100 invasive species, a glossary, and more, this is an essential reference for anyone who needs up-to-date information on this important topic. Encyclopedia of Biological Invasions features articles on: * Well-known invasive species such the zebra mussel, chestnut blight, cheatgrass, gypsy moth, Nile perch, giant African snail, and Norway rat * Regions with especially large numbers of introduced species including the Great Lakes, Mediterranean Sea, Hawaiian Islands, Australia, and New Zealand. * Conservation, ecological, economic, and human and animal health impacts of invasions around the world * The processes and pathways involved in invasion * Management of introduced species
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2011
Encyclopedia of Ecology
The groundbreaking Encyclopedia of Ecology provides an authoritative and comprehensive coverage of the complete field of ecology, from general to applied. It includes over 500 detailed entries, structured to provide the user with complete coverage of the core knowledge, accessed as intuitively as possible, and heavily cross-referenced. Written by an international team of leading experts, this revolutionary encyclopedia will serve as a one-stop-shop to concise, stand-alone articles to be used as a point of entry for undergraduate students, or as a tool for active researchers looking for the latest information in the field. Entries cover a range of topics, including: Behavioral Ecology Ecological Processes Ecological Modeling Ecological Engineering Ecological Indicators Ecological Informatics Ecosystems Ecotoxicology Evolutionary Ecology General Ecology Global Ecology Human Ecology System Ecology The first reference work to cover all aspects of ecology, from basic to applied Over 500 concise, stand-alone articles are written by prominent leaders in the field Article text is supported by full-color photos, drawings, tables, and other visual material Fully indexed and cross referenced with detailed references for further study Writing level is suited to both the expert and non-expert Available electronically on ScienceDirect shortly upon publication
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2014
Encyclopedia of Entomology
The Encyclopedia of Entomology provides a detailed, global overview of insects and their close relatives, including taxonomy, behavior, ecology, physiology, history, and management. It covers all the major groups of arthropods, as well as many important families and individual species. The encyclopedia also covers physiology, genetics, ecology, behavior, insect relationships with people, medical entomology, and pest management.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia of Estuaries
The Encyclopedia of Estuaries, part of Springer's Encyclopedia of Earth Sciences Series, provides a single, state-of-the-art, comprehensive reference volume on estuaries for research scientists, educators, students, and others. Consisting of almost 270 subject entries in an easy-to-use format, this volume covers the physical, chemical, and biological characteristics of estuaries. In total more than 225 authors from around the world have contributed to the encyclopedia on such diverse subjects as biotic communities, essential habitats, food webs, fisheries, hydrology, pollution, conservation, and many more. The Encyclopedia of Estuaries will meet the needs of professionals worldwide by supplying detailed information from world-class estuarine and marine scientists as well as experts from other fields of study.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2015
Encyclopedia of Genetics
The Encyclopedia of Genetics provides the most complete and authoritative coverage of genetics ever published. Dr. Sydney Brenner, the 2002 Nobel Prize winner for Physiology or Medicine, and Professor Jeffrey H. Miller of UCLA have gathered the world's top geneticists to contribute to this outstanding collection. Diverse information is compiled into a single, comprehensive source, containing a clear presentation of cutting-edge knowledge. Easy-to-use and well-organized, the Encyclopedia of Genetics is an invaluable reference work for everyone from the academic researcher to the educated layperson.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2001
Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences
Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences 2e is a new 6-volume online reference work, pulling together all the key information in one source from the leading publisher in the field. This second edition is online, offering the user greater flexibility, accessibility, and most importantly, usability with 24 hour access, multi-user access, remote access and excellent search functionality. Structured for success, each article contains a glossary, an introduction, a reference section and a wealth of cross-referenced links to premium and related material all accessible in a mouse-click, making complicated, time consuming research a thing of the past. *Approximately 500 articles covering the breadth and depth of the field with over 30% new and updated content reflecting the latest research in the field *Greater coverage of climate, remote sensing, and data modeling, with greater consideration of economic and political aspects provides a broad view of the field *Online availability facilitates easier research and increased productivity
Call Number: Reference GC9 .E57 2001 (1st ed. in print, 2nd ed. online)Publication Date: 2009
Encyclopedia of Parasitology
Knowledge in the field of parasitology must be kept at a high level and up to date in order to fight a parasitosis as quickly and effectively as possible. This work, one of Springer's renowned and authoritative Major Reference Works, contributes to these goals in several ways. First, it comprises a number of entries, consisting of both in-depth essays and definitions. Secondly, the content has been improved even more by adding additional tables and high-quality figures. Thirdly, the extensive linking between definitions and essays facilitates information within a minimum of time. The Encyclopedia of Parasitology contains clearly structured essays in alphabetical order with extensive cross-references between definitions and related entries. International contributors, who are well-known specialists in their fields, give a comprehensive review of all parasites and therapeutic strategies in veterinarian and human parasitology. This 4th edition presents all important parasites of humans and animals in detail and the less important ones in short. Each parasite has its own large "chapter" with all subheadings (life cycle, morphology, treatment etc.). Topics common for other parasites and/or transmitted agents of diseases are presented in separate topics, which altogether are listed alphabetically. Furthermore all important parasitological and medical terms are explained as separate topics and are cross-linked to the chapters/topics, where they are explained intensively. Existing entries are updated and presented in the light of the latest knowledge.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2020
Encyclopedia of Reproduction
The more than 550 articles in the Encyclopedia of Reproduction encompass every aspect of the biology of reproduction throughout the entire animal kingdom, covering invertebrates to humans. Each article includesa glossary and an introduction, as well as illustrations and a bibliography. Extensive aids to the reader are provided through a detailed subject index, cross references to related articles, and an index of articles by category. The Encyclopedia isdesigned to answer any and all questions related to this fundamentally important field, in non-mammalian as well as mammalian systems, from the most basic to the latest advances in assisted reproduction in humans.
Call Number: QP251 .E48125 1998 (Print Resouce)Publication Date: 1998
Encyclopedia of Soil Science
New and Improved Global Edition: Three-Volume Set A ready reference addressing a multitude of soil and soil management concerns, the highly anticipated and widely expanded third edition of Encyclopedia of Soil Science now spans three volumes and covers ground on a global scale. A definitive guide designed for both coursework and self-study, this latest version describes every branch of soil science and delves into trans-disciplinary issues that focus on inter-connectivity or the nexus approach. For Soil Scientists, Crop Scientists, Plant Scientists and More A host of contributors from around the world weigh in on underlying themes relevant to natural and agricultural ecosystems. Factoring in a rapidly changing climate and a vastly growing population, they sound off on topics that include soil degradation, climate change, soil carbon sequestration, food and nutritional security, hidden hunger, water quality, non-point source pollution, micronutrients, and elemental transformations. New in the Third Edition: Contains over 600 entries Offers global geographical and thematic coverage Entries peer reviewed by subject experts Addresses current issues of global significance Encyclopedia of Soil Science, Third Edition: Three Volume Set expertly explains the science of soil and describes the material in terms that are easily accessible to researchers, students, academicians, policy makers, and laymen alike. Also Available Online This Taylor & Francis encyclopedia is also available through online subscription, offering a variety of extra benefits for researchers, students, and librarians, including: Citation tracking and alerts Active reference linking Saved searches and marked lists HTML and PDF format options Contact Taylor and Francis for more information or to inquire about subscription options and print/online combination packages. US: (Tel) 1.888.318.2367; (E-mail) e-reference@taylorandfrancis.com International: (Tel) +44 (0) 20 7017 6062; (E-mail) online.sales@tandf.co.uk
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2016
Encyclopedia of Systems Biology
Systems biology refers to the quantitative analysis of the dynamic interactions among several components of a biological system and aims to understand the behavior of the system as a whole. Systems biology involves the development and application of systems theory concepts for the study of complex biological systems through iteration over mathematical modeling, computational simulation and biological experimentation. Systems biology could be viewed as a tool to increase our understanding of biological systems, to develop more directed experiments, and to allow accurate predictions. The Encyclopedia of Systems Biology is conceived as a comprehensive reference work covering all aspects of systems biology, in particular the investigation of living matter involving a tight coupling of biological experimentation, mathematical modeling and computational analysis and simulation. The main goal of the Encyclopedia is to provide a complete reference of established knowledge in systems biology - a 'one-stop shop' for someone seeking information on key concepts of systems biology. As a result, the Encyclopedia comprises a broad range of topics relevant in the context of systems biology. The audience targeted by the Encyclopedia includes researchers, developers, teachers, students and practitioners who are interested or working in the field of systems biology. Keeping in mind the varying needs of the potential readership, we have structured and presented the content in a way that is accessible to readers from wide range of backgrounds. In contrast to encyclopedic online resources, which often rely on the general public to author their content, a key consideration in the development of the Encyclopedia of Systems Biology was to have subject matter experts define the concepts and subjects of systems biology.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2014
Encyclopedia of Theoretical Ecology
This major reference is an overview of the current state of theoretical ecology through a series of topical entries centered on both ecological and statistical themes. Coverage ranges across scales--from the physiological, to populations, landscapes, and ecosystems. Entries provide an introduction to broad fields such as Applied Ecology, Behavioral Ecology, Computational Ecology, Ecosystem Ecology, Epidemiology and Epidemic Modeling, Population Ecology, Spatial Ecology and Statistics in Ecology. Others provide greater specificity and depth, including discussions on the Allee effect, ordinary differential equations, and ecosystem services. Descriptions of modern statistical and modeling approaches and how they contributed to advances in theoretical ecology are also included. Succinct, uncompromising, and authoritative--a "must have" for those interested in the use of theory in the ecological sciences.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2012
Encyclopedia of Tidepools and Rocky Shores
Tidepools and rocky shores are among the most physically stressful environments on earth. When the tide is high, waves can sweep over plants and animals at velocities as high as 60 miles per hour, while at low tide, the same organisms dry up and bake in the sun. Yet despite this seeming inhospitality, tidepools and rocky shores are exceptionally complex and biologically diverse. This comprehensive encyclopedia is an authoritative, one-stop reference for everyone interested in the biology and ecology of this fascinating and uniquely accessible environment. Conveniently arranged alphabetically, nearly 200 wide-ranging entries written in clear language by scientists from around the world provide a state-of-the-art picture of tidepools and rocky shore science. From Abalones, Barnacles, and Climate Change through Seagrasses, Tides, and Wind, the articles discuss the animals and plants that live in tidepools, the physics and chemistry of the rocky shore environment, the ecological principles that govern tidepools, and many other interdisciplinary topics. * Generously illustrated with hundreds of color photographs, drawings, and diagrams * The only comprehensive volume available on tidepools and rocky shores * Articles include in-depth looks at animal and algal diversity and overviews of the history of research, rocky shore management, and conservation * Contributors are experts on physics and physical oceanography, experimental ecology, population genetics, taxonomy, and other disciplines
Call Number: Reference QH541.5.S35 E53 2007 (Print and Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2007
Encyclopedia of Underwater Life
A fascinating, in-depth exploration of the hidden underwater world, this spectacularly illustrated encyclopedia examines the creatures that inhabit our seas, rivers, lakes, and oceans, revealing the often unexpected and bewilderingly diverse secrets of the deep. detailed, comprehensive coverage of thousands of underwater species, among them barracudas, piranhas, sharks, octopuses, corals, sponges, jellyfish, and leeches, describing the distribution, habitat, anatomy, behaviour, breeding, and conservation status of groups. Clear, authoritative scholarship from an international team of experts is enhanced by incredible colour photographs and explanatory diagrams. distribution of species; and there are feature articles on key topics such as the biological organization of coral reefs, and the lifecycle of the salmon. A list of scientific names, a glossary, and a general index make this encyclopedia accessible and easy to navigate. anyone interested in learning more about aquatic life.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2005
Fishes of the World
Take your knowledge of fishes to the next level Fishes of the World, Fifth Edition is the only modern, phylogenetically based classification of the world's fishes. The updated text offers new phylogenetic diagrams that clarify the relationships among fish groups, as well as cutting-edge global knowledge that brings this classic reference up to date. With this resource, you can classify orders, families, and genera of fishes, understand the connections among fish groups, organize fishes in their evolutionary context, and imagine new areas of research. To further assist your work, this text provides representative drawings, many of them new, for most families of fishes, allowing you to make visual connections to the information as you read. It also contains many references to the classical as well as the most up-to-date literature on fish relationships, based on both morphology and molecular biology. The study of fishes is one that certainly requires dedication--and access to reliable, accurate information. With more than 30,000 known species of sharks, rays, and bony fishes, both lobe-finned and ray-finned, you will need to master your area of study with the assistance of the best reference materials available. This text will help you bring your knowledge of fishes to the next level. Explore the anatomical characteristics, distribution, common and scientific names, and phylogenetic relationships of fishes Access biological and anatomical information on more than 515 families of living fishes Better appreciate the complexities and controversies behind the modern view of fish relationships Refer to an extensive bibliography, which points you in the direction of additional, valuable, and up-to-date information, much of it published within the last few years Fishes of the World, Fifth Edition is an invaluable resource for professional ichthyologists, aquatic ecologists, marine biologists, fish breeders, aquaculturists, and conservationists.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2016
Flora of North America (Open Access Resource)Call Number: (Electronic Resource)
Frontiers of Life
Frontiers of Life addresses fields of biology in terms of their frontiers--that is, the areas that will demand the most work in this new century. Because of their standing, the editors have been able to unite the most prestigious and well-informed authorities to place recent scientific advances into the context of their effects on daily human experiences and expectations. They ask, "What frontiers of the biological sciences will constitute the challenges of the next century?" Their first answer is an understanding of the processes and mechanisms that led to the origin of life. They take this answer as the starting point of the first section of the Encyclopedia. They thus proceed throughout the four volumes. Separating this Encyclopedia form others is its multidisciplinary approach to the "frontiers" theme. While other encyclopedias strive to describe the past and present states of many subjects, Frontiers of Life offers the insights of world-class scientists into their subjects' growth areas.
Call Number: Reference QH302.5 .F76 2002 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2001
Global Atlas of Marine Fisheries: A Critical Appraisal of Catches and Ecosystem Impacts
Until now, there has been only one source of data on global fishery catches: information reported to the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations by member countries. An extensive, ten-year study conducted by The Sea Around Us Project of the University of British Columbia shows that this catch data is fundamentally misleading. Many countries underreport the amount of fish caught (some by as much as 500%), while others such as China significantly overreport their catches. The Global Atlas of Marine Fisheries is the first and only book to provide accurate, country-by-country fishery data. This groundbreaking information has been gathered from independent sources by the world's foremost fisheries experts, and edited by Daniel Pauly and Dirk Zeller of the Sea Around Us Project. The Atlas includes one-page reports on 273 countries and their territories, plus fourteen topical global chapters. National reports describe the state of the country's fishery, by sect∨ the policies, politics, and social factors affecting it; and potential solutions. The global chapters address cross-cutting issues, from the economics of fisheries to the impacts of mariculture. Extensive maps and graphics offer attractive and accessible visual representations. While it has long been clear that the world's oceans are in trouble, the lack of reliable data on fishery catches has obscured the scale, and nuances, of the crisis. The atlas shows that, globally, catches have declined rapidly since the 1980s, signaling an even more critical situation than previously understood. The Global Atlas of Marine Fisheries provides a comprehensive picture of our current predicament and steps that can be taken to ease it. For researchers, students, fishery managers, professionals in the fishing industry, and all others concerned with the status of the world's fisheries, the Atlas will be an indispensable resource.
Call Number: TD194.6 .G563 2016 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 2016
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia
Gale proudly presents the first completely revised and updated version of this acclaimed set in 30 years. Some reviewers call Grzimeks Animal Life Encyclopedia the best reference work on animals ever published. Others call it the legacy left to us by famed zoologist and animal lover, Bernhard Grzimek. The accolades and praise go on for the newest addition to Gales line of reference titles. The original 13-vol. set, published in Germany in the late 1960s, is internationally renowned for its scientific reporting, coverage and illustrations, and serves as a major point of reference for researchers and students studying the animal kingdom. Thorough articles familiarize readers with animals found everywhere on the globe, detailing their life cycles, predators, food systems, overall ecology and much more. Staying true to the original scientific pedigree, Gale enlisted prominent advisors and contributors from the international scientific community to incorporate recent developments in the animal world. Our new editions of Grzimeks Animal Life Encyclopedia are sure to serve the needs of students at every academic level.
Call Number: QL7 .G7813 2003 (Print and Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2002
Habitats and Ecosystems: An Encyclopedia of Endangered America
A unique guide to little-known protected sites across America. Habitats and Ecosystems describes more than 2,500 endangered species, habitats, and ecosystems in this unique guide to little-known, protected sites across the country. This work is the companion to the author's award winning Toxic Waste Sites: An Encyclopedia of Endangered America. Appendixes provide information on important state agencies and lists of endangered and threatened species
Call Number: QH76 .C73 1999 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1999
The Marshall Cavendish International Wildlife EncyclopediaCall Number: QL7 .M37 1991 (Print Resource)Publication Date: 1991- NOAA Tides and Currents (Open Access Resource)Call Number: (Electronic Resource)
Oxford Dictionary of Biology
Fully revised and updated for the sixth edition, this market-leading dictionary is the perfect guide for anyone studying biology, either at school or university. With over 5,200 clear and concise entries, over 300 of them new to this edition, it provides comprehensive coverage of biology,biophysics, and biochemistry. Features include biographical entries on key scientists and highlighted entries on important topics such as bioinformatics, genomics, molecular evolution, and protein structure, with further reading suggestions. Appendices include classification of the animal and plantkingdoms; geological timescale; major mass extinctions of species; model organisms and their genomes; and Nobel prizewinners - the last two new to this edition.
Call Number: QH302.5 .D54 2008 (Print and Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2008
Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Human Evolution
This comprehensive A to Z encyclopedia provides extensive coverage of important scientific terms related to improving our understanding of how we evolved. Specifically, the 5,000 entries in this two-volume set cover evidence and methods used to investigate the relationships among the living great apes, evidence about what makes the behavior of modern humans distinctive, and evidence about the evolutionary history of that distinctiveness, as well as information about modern methods used to trace the recent evolutionary history of modern human populations. This text provides a resource for everyone studying the emergence of Homo sapiens. Visit the companion site www.woodhumanevolution.com to browse additional references and updates from this comprehensive encyclopedia.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2011
Wiley-Blackwell Student Dictionary of Human Evolution
Not so long ago, all a student studying human evolution needed was a familiarity with the relatively sparse fossil record and what limited information there was about the context of the sites, a basic knowledge of gross anatomy and archeology, and an understanding of simple analytical methods. Times have changed. The fossil record has grown exponentially, imaging techniques have advanced dramatically, quantitative methods have burgeoned, and molecular biology has revolutionized our understanding of genetics, evolutionary history, and development. Added to this are advances in the archeological, biological, and earth sciences that help interpret the context of the fossil evidence and reconstruct behavior. But presently there is nowhere students of human evolution cna easily find out about topics as disparate as ameloblast, Coopers Cave, daily secretion rate, the effect hypothesis, homeobox genes, insolation, phylogenetically independent contrasts, quantitative trait locus, semicircular canals, and tephrostratigraphy. The Wiley Blackwell Student Dictionary of Human Evolution contains upwards of 2500 entries, all drafted with an eye on the student user. It is an indispensable source for those studying human evolution.
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2015
Wiley StatsRef: Statistics Reference Online
Wiley StatsRef: Statistics Reference Online is a comprehensive online reference resource which covers the fundamentals and applications of statistics in all fields where it is widely used. This is the most inclusive, authoritative, online reference source available in statistics. Wiley StatsRef is aimed at advanced undergraduates, postgraduates, teachers of statistics, and for experienced researchers entering a new part of the field for the first time. Comprises over 6,000 articles from across the breadth of Wiley's extensive reference resources in statistics - equivalent to over 30 volumes in print Over 30,000 new cross-references and related article links added to greatly enhance the user experience by providing easy access to increased context and background Browse by article or topic Fully searchable Regularly updated with new and revised content New bespoke taxonomy created for a more intuitive and efficient user experience The new structure and article enhancements create a genuinely stand alone, self-contained work covering all aspects of the subject in a single product Articles in Wiley StatsRef have been carefully selected from the following eight products in Wiley's existing online reference work portfolio, with thousands of new cross-references and links to related articles added to hugely enhance discoverability and ease of navigation: Encyclopedia of Actuarial Science Encyclopedia of Biostatistics Encyclopedia of Clinical Trials Encyclopedia of Environmetrics Encyclopedia of Quantitative Risk Analysis and Assessment Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences Encyclopedia of Statistics in Behavioral Science Encyclopedia of Statistics in Quality and Reliability
Call Number: (Electronic Resource)Publication Date: 2014
