Indigenous & Pre-ColombianStatistics
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Latin American & Iberian Studies 

Estudios latinoamericanos e ibéricos
Last update: Nov 06th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.ucsb.edu/lais  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Primary Sources             Print Page
  
 

Reference Books

Fuentes manuscritas para la historia de Iberoamérica
  
Main Ref F 1412 .H57 1995

Guide to the Princeton University Latin American Microfilm Collection
  
Main Ref F 1408 .G83 1993


 
 

Websites

Brazilian Government Document Digitization Project

  • This joint Center for Research Libraries/Latin American Microfilm Project effort digitized executive branch serial documents issued by Brazil's national government during the period between 1821 and 1993

Colecciones Mexicanas

  • Provides a collection of documents, journals, photographs and bibliographies on the history of Mexico

Empire Online UCSB Only!

  • Original documents related to "Empire Studies," 1492-present

EuroDocs

  • Primary History Documents from Western Europe

Hemeroteca Nacional de España

  • Scanned images of Spanish newspapers from 17th-20th centuries
  • Click on "Consulta" to search
  • See also their link to otras hemerotecas digitales

Historical Text Archive

  • Collection of online books (a bit random)

INEGI (Instituto Nacional de Estadística Geografía e Informática)

  • The basic data from the 2000 Mexican census

Internet Archive Moving Pictures (open source movies in Spanish)

National Security Archive: Electronic Briefing Books

  • Scanned images (with large blacked-out portions) of declassified US government documents
  • The section on Latin America is quite lengthly

Nueva corónica y buen gobierno

  • Digitized edition of Felipe Guaman Poma de Ayala's Andean chronicle
  • Images of the 1200 pages

Nunca más (Never Again): Report of Conadep (National Commission on the Disappearance of Persons) - 1984

  • Testimonies of 881 victims of Argentina's "Dirty War," official documents, reports, verdicts, list of detention centers, and a bibliography

PhiloBiblon

  • An awkward search engine of Catalan, Galician, Portuguese and Spanish manuscripts
  • Scroll down to small "Search PhiloBiblon" link to search database

Presidential Messages

  • Digital collection of presidential messages from Argentina (1810-present) and Mexico (1821-present)

Transitional Poster Art

  • Stanford's collection of East German (DDR) poster art regarding Latin America (1970-1989)

Vistas: Visual Culture in Spanish America 1520-1820

  • An art gallery of images which includes pottery, architecture and ceremonial items created in the wake of the New World conquests
 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageSalvador Güereña
Contact Info:
California Ethnic and Multicultural Archives office
3rd floor Davidson Library
893-8563
Send Email

Subjects:
Chicana/o, Latina/o, Latin American, Iberian studies

 

Citation Styles

Need help writing your citations?
Here are some style guides:

Chicago Manual of Style

Chicago Quick Citation Guide

Modern Languages Association (MLA)

Purdue University's Online Writing Lab for MLA help

Paraphrase vs Plagiarism?
Paraphrase = well done!
Plagiarism = F (or worse)
Know the difference
.

 

 

Copyright © 2008 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
Davidson Library (805) 893-2478 • Arts Library (805) 893-2850 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies
Description

  Loading content... please wait