INT 100RS 
Asian TraditionsChristian TraditionsIslamJudaismNative American TraditionsReligion in AmericaSikhism and Pujabi
Law and ReligionMaterial Culture and SpacePhilosophy of ReligionPsychology of ReligionScience and ReligionSociology and Anthropology of Religion
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Religious Studies 

A guide for reference and online resources for Religious Studies.
Last update: Oct 02nd, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.ucsb.edu/religion  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Islam            Print Page
  
 

For More Information

 

Print Reference Sources

Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World (2 vols.)
   Main Ref  BP 40 E525  2004

Encyclopedia of Islamic Civilization and Religion
   Main Ref  BP 40 E526 2008

New Encyclopedia of Islam
   Main Ref  BP 40 G42  2001

Encyclopedia of Islamic Civilization and Religion
   Main Ref  BP 40 E526 2008

Qur’an: A Modern English Version (trans. Fakhry)
   Main Ref  BP 109 1996

The Coptic Encyclopedia
   Main Ref  BX 130.5.C66 1991

 

Cultural Sites

Islam for Today

  • This site is written for non-Muslims to gain an understanding about Islam. In an effort to debunk stereotypes, the site contains information about the status of women in Islam

Islam Online

  • A current events and culture site in English and Arabic.
 
 

Primary Sources

Historical Text Archive

  • Provides high quality articles, books, essays, documents, historical photos, and links, screened for content, for a broad range of historical subjects.

Internet Sacred Texts Archive

  • Online archive of sacred texts from many of the world's religions. Scroll down the left side and click on a tradition.
  • Islamic Texts

The Noble Qur'an

  • MSA, USC
  • Three English translations by Yusuf Ali, Pickthall, and Shakir. Commentary by Maududi

The Noble Quran

  • Arabic text with English translations by Shakir and Yusufali; English commentary by Pooya

Internet Sacred Text Archive: Ancient Near East

  • Enuma Elish, Code of Hammurabi, Gilgamish, and others

Internet Sacred Text Archive: Egyptian

  • Pyramid Texts, Book of the Dead, and others

Foundation of Iranian Studies Resources

  • Resources include THE CONCISE ENCYCLOPEDIA OF IRAN (in Persian), Library & Pahlavi Archives, Legal Documents, and the FIS Online Oral History Collection (requires registration)

The Peshitta

The Koran

  • University of Michigan Humanities Text Initiative
  • English translation by Shakir

Sunnah and Hadith (MSA, USC)

ALTAFSIR.COM

  • English translation of Tafsir al-Jalalayn and Tafsir Ibn 'Abbas

al-Mizan: an Exegesis of the holy Qur'an by Muhammad Husayn Tabatab'i

Digital Library of Arabic Heritage Books (al-Hakawati)

Women in Islamic Societies: a Selected Review of Social Scientific Literature

  • Report prepared November 2005 by Priscilla Offenhauer for the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress (.pdf)

Basic Reference Tools in Islamic Art and Architecture

  • Harvard Fine Arts Library
  • Call numbers refer to Fine Arts collection

The Gulistan of Sa'di

  • Translated by Sir Edwin Arnold

Alf Layla wa Layla (A thousand Nights and a Night)

  • Selected tales translated by Andrew Lang and Sir Richard Burton

al-Mu'allaqat (The Hanged Poems)

  • Translated by F.E. Johnson
  • Includes only Imru'al-ays, Antar, and Zuhayr

Atlas al-Mu'allaqat

  • Atlas of places mentioned in the Mu'allaqat. In Arabic

JIC: Jews of Islamic Countries Archiving Project (Tel-Aviv University)

Digital National Security Archive

  • Includes collectons on Middle East 

The Afghanistan Digital Library(New York Univ.)

  • Digitized versions of works published in Afghanistan between 1870 and 1030

History from Below in the Ottoman Empire and the Modern Middle East: an Archive (Binghamton Univ.)

  • Documents and photographs from a website devoted to the economic (especially labor) and social history of the late Ottoman and early modern Middle East

MEDU: Middle East Documentation Unit (Durham Univ. Library)

  • Modern Middle East - politics, economics, and society

ECAI Iraq (ECAI)

  • Digital resources on all aspects of Iraqi history and culture from ancient to modern times
 

Online Reference Sources

 Arabic Literature

  • Gateway site for Arabic Literature (classical through modern) sponsored by Cornell University Libraries

Brill Online

Encyclopedia of Islam UCSB Only

Encyclopedia Mythica

  • An encyclopedia of mythology, folklore, and legend. Covers a variety of cultures and time periods.

Encyclopaedia Iranica

  • Articles on people, places, terms, and topics dealing with Iranian culture
  • NOTE: You will need to download special fonts before you can search.
  • This version offers access to the articles, but not searching. 
  • Print Version: REF DS253.E53 1982

Index Islamicus

  • Always the best place to start
  • Covers widest amount of journals (and books since 1981)concerning the Middle East
  • Includes materials in many languages
  • Use * to truncate
  • Click on Peer-reviewed tab to get academic journals
  • Use UCeLinks to find the items

Oxford Reference Online UCSB Only

ORB--Online Encyclopedia for Medieval Studies

  • Online encyclopedias, other reference works and links for study of the Medieval Period.

Religion Gateway

  • Annotated guide to religion resources on the Internet.

Virtual Religion Index

 

Subject Librarian

Profile ImageMeryle Gaston
Contact Info:
Davidson Library
5520H
805-893-7686
Send Email

Subjects:
Middle Eastern Studies, Religious Studies

 

Copyright © 2008 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
Davidson Library (805) 893-2478 • Arts Library (805) 893-2850 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies
Description

  Loading content... please wait