INT 100RS 
Asian TraditionsChristian TraditionsIslamJudaismNative American TraditionsReligion in AmericaSikhism and Pujabi
Law and ReligionMaterial Culture and SpacePhilosophy of ReligionPsychology of ReligionScience and ReligionSociology and Anthropology of Religion
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Religious Studies 

A guide for reference and online resources for Religious Studies.
Last update: Oct 02nd, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.ucsb.edu/religion  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Judaism            Print Page
  
 

Print Reference Sources

Encyclopedia Judaica, 2nd ed (22 vols.)
   Main Ref  DS 102.8 E496 2007

Encyclopedia of Judaism (5 vols.)
   Main Ref  BM 50 E63 1999

Historical Dictionary of Judaism
   Main Ref  BM 50 S65 2006

Mishnah (English, trans. Danby)
   Main Ref  BM497.5 .E4 1974

New Encyclopedia of Judaism
   Main Ref  BM 50 E63 2002

Tanakh (JPS Hebrew-English Tanakh)
   Main Ref/Lib BS 895 J4 1999

 
 

Primary Sources

Adherents.com

  • A collection of religious adherent statistics and religious geography citations. Contains references to published membership/adherent statistics and congregation statistics for over 4,200 religions, churches, denominations, religious bodies, faith groups, tribes, cultures, movements, ultimate concerns, etc.

All-in-one Biblical Resources Search

  • Engine which searches the full text of several versions (in several languages) of the Judeo-Christian Bible.

The American Religion Data Archive

  • A database of quanitative data on American religions including churches and church membership, religious professionals, and religious groups.

EuroDocs

  • Primary History Documents from Western Europe.

Historical Text Archive

  • Provides high quality articles, books, essays, documents, historical photos, and links, screened for content, for a broad range of historical subjects.

Internet Sacred Texts Archive

 

Online Reference Sources

Encyclopedia Mythica

  • An encyclopedia of mythology, folklore, and legend. Covers a variety of cultures and time periods.

Oxford Reference Online  UCSB Only

ORB--Online Encyclopedia for Medieval Studies

  • Online encyclopedias, other reference works and links for study of the Medieval Period.

Religion Gateway

  • Annotated guide to religion resources on the Internet.

Virtual Religion Index

 

Subject Librarian

Profile ImageMeryle Gaston
Contact Info:
Davidson Library
5520H
805-893-7686
Send Email

Subjects:
Middle Eastern Studies, Religious Studies

 

Copyright © 2008 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
Davidson Library (805) 893-2478 • Arts Library (805) 893-2850 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies
Description

  Loading content... please wait