INT 100RS 
Asian TraditionsChristian TraditionsIslamJudaismNative American TraditionsReligion in AmericaSikhism and Pujabi
Law and ReligionMaterial Culture and SpacePhilosophy of ReligionPsychology of ReligionScience and ReligionSociology and Anthropology of Religion
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Religious Studies 

A guide for reference and online resources for Religious Studies.
Last update: Oct 02nd, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.ucsb.edu/religion  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Christian Traditions            Print Page
  
 

Print Reference Sources

Bible (NRSV, New Oxford Annotated Bible)
   Main Ref  BS 191.5 A1 2001 .N49

Catholic Almanac
   Main Ref  AY 81 R6 N3  2007

Encyclopedia of Christianity (5 vols.)
   Main Ref  BR 95 E8913 1999

Encyclopedia of Early Christianity (2 vols.)
   Main Ref  BR 162.2 E53 1997

Encyclopedia of Modern Christian Politics
   Main Ref  BR 115 E58 2006

Encyclopedia of Protestantism (4 vols.)
   Main Ref  BX 4811.3 E53 2004

New Catholic Encyclopedia (15 vols.)
   Main Ref  BX 841 N44  2003

Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church
   Main Ref  BR 95 O8 2005

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation
   Main Ref  BR 302.8 O93 1996

Timeline Charts of the Western Church
   Main Ref  BR 149 P48 1999

 

Libraries and Research Centers

American Religions Collection

  • A guide to the American Religions Collections at UCSB Special Collections in Davidson Library.
  • Includes J. Gordon Melton's manuscript collection.

Center for the Study of Religion, Princeton University

  • Encourages intellectual exchange and interdisciplinary scholarly studies about religion
  • Offers diverse perspectives of the humanities and social sciences.
  • Examines religion comparatively and empirically in its diverse historical and contemporary manifestations.

Center for the Study of American Religion & Culture

  • A research and public outreach institute devoted to the promotion of the understanding of the relation between religion and other features of American culture.

Cushwa Center for the Study of American Catholicism

  • A leading center for the historical study of Roman Catholicism in the United States.

Walter H. Capps Center for the Study of Religion and Public Life

  • Promotes the study of religious pluralism.
  • Provides a useful list of links to other pages about this topic.
 
 

Primary Sources

Acta Sanctorum Database UCSB Only

  • This is a complete electronic version of the 68 print volumes published by the Société des Bollandistes in Antwerp and Brussels. The contents examine the lives of the saints.

Adherents.com

  • A collection of religious adherent statistics and religious geography citations. Contains references to published membership/adherent statistics and congregation statistics for over 4,200 religions, churches, denominations, religious bodies, faith groups, tribes, cultures, movements, ultimate concerns, etc.

All-in-one Biblical Resources Search

  • Engine which searches the full text of several versions (in several languages) of the Judeo-Christian Bible.

The American Religion Data Archive

  • A database of quanitative data on American religions including churches and church membership, religious professionals, and religious groups.

EuroDocs

  • Primary History Documents from Western Europe.
  • Provides high quality articles, books, essays, documents, historical photos, and links, screened for content, for a broad range of historical subjects

Internet Sacred Texts Archive

  • Online archive of sacred texts from many of the world's religions. Scroll down the left side and click on a tradition.
  • Christian Texts

Patrologia Latina Database UCSB Only

  • Contains the works of the Church Fathers from 200 CE to 1216 CE

Perseus Project

  • Tufts University's digital library project, containing materials related to: Greece & Rome, Renaissance, 19th century America and more. Access to Greek and Latin lexica.

Religion Online

  • This site has thousands of full-text articles on Religious Studies, but its focuses are Christianity and sociology.

Restoration Movement

  • Contains primary and secondary source material for researching the Restoration Movement (out of which came the Churches of Christ, the Christian Churches, and the Disciples of Christ).

Shaker Manuscripts Online

  • Links to various Shaker manuscripts.

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae UCSB Only

  • This database contains nearly all ancient Greek texts (from 8th Century BCE to 600 CE). It also has several texts from 600 - 1453 CE. The collection is steadily growing as more Greek and Byzantine authors are being added.
 

Online Reference Sources

Catholic Encyclopedia

  • Online version of the 1913 edition.

Catholic Studies, UCSB

Encyclopedia Mythica

  • An encyclopedia of mythology, folklore, and legend. Covers a variety of cultures and time periods.

Index of Christian Art

Mormons in Transition

  • Sponsored by the Institute for Religious Research, this page provides criticism on different aspects of the Church of Latter Day Saints.

New Testament Gateway

  • Directory of internet resources of possible interest to New Testament scholars.

ORB--Online Encyclopedia for Medieval Studies

  • Online encyclopedias, other reference works and links for study of the Medieval Period.

Oxford Online Reference  UCSB Only

Religion Gateway

  • Annotated guide to religion resources on the Internet.

Virtual Religion Index

 

Copyright © 2008 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
Davidson Library (805) 893-2478 • Arts Library (805) 893-2850 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies
Description

  Loading content... please wait