INT 100RS 
Asian TraditionsChristian TraditionsIslamJudaismNative American TraditionsReligion in AmericaSikhism and Pujabi
Law and ReligionMaterial Culture and SpacePhilosophy of ReligionPsychology of ReligionScience and ReligionSociology and Anthropology of Religion
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Religious Studies 

A guide for reference and online resources for Religious Studies.
Last update: Oct 02nd, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.ucsb.edu/religion  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Articles            Print Page
  
 

Off-campus?

Before searching, log into the proxy server and return here.

Items marked UCSB only are available only to UCSB students, faculty, and staff from off campus.

 

Cititation and Style Guides

 

InterLibrary Loan

Check the status of your ILL requests:

Request an item directly from Melvyl or a database (FASTEST service):

 
 

Find articles, citations, & reviews in these indexes and databases

Need Articles? Try these indexes and databases first:

Academic Search Complete (1984+) UCSB only

  • Some of the key Religious Studies journals

America: History & Life (1964+) UCSB only

  • US religion, religious movements and politics

Anthropology Plus (1900+) UCSB Only

  • Sometimes good for non-Western and/or native religious traditions

ATLA Religion Index UCSB Only

  • General religious and theological literature, particularly Western religion

Bibliography of Asian Studies (1971+) UCSB Only

  • Key resources for Asian and East Asian studies

Directory of Open Access Journals

  • Free online scholarly journals

Historical Abstracts (1967+) UCSB Only

  • World history not including US and Canada

RAMBI Index of Articles on Jewish Studies

  • A selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies

Sociological Abstracts UCSB Only

  • Good for the sociology of religion

JSTOR UCSB Only

  • A good general database for pdf's of articles.

Web of Science UCSB Only

  • Don't be fooled by the name. This contains citation indexes for the arts, humanities & the social sciences.

UCSB E-Journal Titles:

E-Journals Collection (main search)

  • Alphabetical List

Other Resources:

Alternative Press Index (1991+) UCSB Only, Alt. Press Index Archive (1969-1990) UCSB Only

  • Non-mainstream publication index

Catholic Periodical & Literature Index

  • PRINT ONLY, Reference Z7837 .C3

 Guide to Social Science and Religion

  • PRINT ONLY, Reference Z7751 .G85
  • Indexes journals from more conservative religious perspectives

Index to Jewish Periodicals

  • PRINT ONLY, Reference Z6367 .I5

Index to Literature on the American Indian, 1970-1974

  • PRINT ONLY, Reference Z 1209 I53

ITER: Gateway to the Renaissance (1843+) UCSB ONly

  • Bibliography of articles on the Middle Ages and the Renaissance

Left Index (1990+) UCSB Only

  • Political left cultural and political article index

New Testament Abstracts

  • PRINT ONLY, Reference B1 .N4935

Old Testament Abstracts

  • PRINT ONLY, Reference BS410 .O42

Periodicals Archive Online Archive UCSB Only

  • Digitised journals published in the arts, humanities & social sciences.

The Philosopher's Index (1940+) UCSB Only

  • Good for ethics research

American Religions Collection in Special Collections

Public Online Resources (free)

  • Useful for the Fulbright American Studies Institute scholars

 

 

Subject Librarian

Profile ImageMeryle Gaston
Contact Info:
Davidson Library
5520H
805-893-7686
Send Email

Subjects:
Middle Eastern Studies, Religious Studies

 

Copyright © 2008 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
Davidson Library (805) 893-2478 • Arts Library (805) 893-2850 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies
Description

  Loading content... please wait