General Paleontology Sites and Meta Sites
General Sites
- Databases for Paleontology
- links to free web databases from the Paleontological Society.
- Glossary of Terms
- defines words used in paleontology (USGS).
- Paleontology and Fossils Resources
- links to a number of web sites on these topics.
- Paleontology at the U.S. Geological Survey
- includes general information on paleontology and the work of the USGS.
- Polyglot Paleontologist
- English translations of non-English paleontological papers.
- Meta Sites
- Google: Paleontology
- links to a number of sites listed by topic.
- PaleoNet
- system of listservers, www pages and FTP sites for paleontologists.
- Yahoo!: Paleontology
- links to a number of sites listed by topic.
Subject-Specific Paleontology Sites
Dinosaurs
- Blast from the Past
- theories about mass extinction of dinosaurs (Smithsonian).
- Dino Russ's Lair
- links to a variety of sites on dinosaurs (Univ. of Illinois).
- Dinobase
- general information about dinosaurs (Bristol University).
- Dino Directory
- lists dinosaurs by name, time period, country and body shape.
- Dinosaur Eggs Hunt
- takes you behind the scenes of "The Great Dinosaur Egg Hunt" (National Geographic Magazine).
- Dinosaur Genera
- lists genera for over 1,000 types of dinosaurs.
- Dinosauria On-Line
- contains a dinosaur omnipedia, a discovery journal, and links to other dinosaur sites.
- Dinosaurs and Fossils
- "encyberpedia" with links to a number of sites on dinosaurs.
- Google: Dinosaurs
- links to a number of sites on dinosaurs.
- Prehistoric Life
- basic information on different periods and species; includes interactive features (BBC).
- Yahoo!: Dinosaurs:
- links to a number of sites on dinosaurs.
- Paleobotany
- Google: Paleobotany
- links to a number of sites on fossil plants.
- Links for Palaeobotanists
- links to a number of sites on paleobotany.
- Paleobotanical Collection
- searchable catalog of paleobotany from Univ. of Alberta.
- Paleobotany
- information about collections at the Yale Peabody Museum including access to the paleobotany catalog.
- Paleobotany Links
- from the Paleobotany Section of the Botanical Society of America.
- Paleobotany Links
- from the International Organisation of Palaeobotany.
- Review and Atlas of Palaeovegetation
- Preliminary land ecosystem maps of the world since the Last Glacial Maximum.
- Virtual Paleobotany
- virtual lab from UC Berkeley.
- Yahoo!: Paleobotany
- links to a number of sites on fossil plants.
- Other Specialities
- Google: Paleogeography and Paleoclimatology
- links to a number of sites listed on paleogeography and paleoclimatology.
- WWW Virtual Library: Paleoclimatology and Paleoceanography
- links to a number of sites on paleoclimatology and paleoceanography.
- Yahoo!: Paleoecology
- links to a number of sites listed on paleoecology.
Organizations
- American Association of Stratigraphic Palynologists
- provides information about the association.
- International Organisation of Palaeobotany
- includes a plant fossil record database.
- Micropaleontological Reference Centers
- microfossil groups from the Deep Sea Drilling Project and the Ocean Drilling Program.
- NOAA Paleoclimatology Program
- contains information about paleoclimatology at the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.
- Palaeontological Association
- (U.K.) information about the association and paleontology.
- Paleontological Research Institution
- information about the institution and about paleontology in general (Ithaca, New York).
- Paleontological Society
- includes information about the society and links to paleontology sites.
- Society of Vertebrate Paleontology
- organization for professional vertebrate paleontology.
- Vertebrate Paleontology Lab
- (University of Texas) contains a 3D model of a cynodont (MPEG movie) and an "Ask the Expert" section.
Museums
- Museums - California
- Santa Barbara Museum of Natural History
- local natural history museum.
- Page Museum: La Brea Tar Pits
- an excellent site for learning more about the La Brea fossils.
- UC Berkeley Museum of Paleontology
- contains catalogs and many links to other sites, and a virtual tour of the museum.
- Museums - Elsewhere
-
Paleontology Museums
- links from the Paleontological Society.
- Field Museum
- online exhibits include "Life Over Time" and Sue the T-Rex.
- Illinois State Museum
- maintains a database of late Quaternary mammal species in the U.S.
- National Museum of Natural History's Paleobiology Website
- the department at the Smithsonian concerned with paleontology.
- Paleontological Research Institution
- includes information about digs and the museum.
- Royal Terrell Museum
- offers a virtual tour (Alberta, Canada).
- Vertebrate Paleontology
- Florida Museum of Natural History. Includes issues of Pony Express, the fossil horse newsletter.
Geology Librarian |
Annie PlatoffContact Info:
Davidson Library, Room 2523D
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
(805) 893-2074
Send Email
Subjects:
Earth Sciences, Geology
Davidson Library, Room 2523D
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
(805) 893-2074
Send Email
Subjects:
Earth Sciences, Geology
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait