Recent Earthquakes
Kilauea Volcano
Web Sites for Earthquakes & Volcanoes
California Earthquakes and Volcanoes
- America's Volcanic Past - California
- Discusses the volcanic history of the Golden State.
- California Geological Survey
- State agency dedicated to the earth sciences in California.
- Earthquake Hazards Program - Southern California
- USGS program to study earthquakes in Southern California
- Recent Earthquakes in California and Nevada (USGS)
- Updates on recent earthquakes in California and Nevada
- Santa Barbara Earthquake History
- Covers earthquakes felt in the greater Santa Barbara region between 1800 and 1960 (UCSB)
- Southern California Earthquake Center
- information about earthquake activity in Southern California
- Southern California Earthquake Data Center
- Recent earthquake data for Southern California
- Southern California Seismic Network
- Monitors earthquakes in Southern California
- U.S. Geological Survey Cascades Volcano Observatory
- Observatory studying the Cascades volcanoes including Northern California
- U.S. Geological Survey Long Valley (CA) Observatory
- Observatory studying a region of volcanic unrest in the Sierra-Nevada range, California
- Putting Down Roots in Earthquake Country
- Information on earthquakes for people living in California. Includes basic information on California faults, home preparedness, and earthquake survival (Southern California Earthquake Center).
Earthquake Images Collections -- California
- 1906 San Franciso Photographs
- Images with captions.
- Before and After the Great Earthquake and Fire: Early Films of San Francisco, 1897-1916
- Videos from before and after the great earthquake (Smithsonian).
- 1989 Earthquake Reports and Photographs
- Reports and images of damage around the San Fransico Bay area from the Loma Prieta quake.
US and Worldwide Earthquakes and Volcanoes
- Earthquake Notification Service
- From the USGS; allows users to sign up to receive e-mails when earthquakes occur.
- Earthquake Photo Collections
- Includes links to a different photo collections related to earthquakes
- Geyser Observation and Study Association
- Descriptions and photographs of geysers from around the world with an emphasis on Yellowstone and Old Faithful.
- Global Volcanism Program (Smithsonian)
- Weekly & monthly reports on current and historical eruptions for more than 400 volcanoes
- Images of Historical Earthquakes
- Images of earthquakes by date or by country and region (UC Berkeley)
- National Earthquake Information Center
- Information about earthquakes in the U.S. (USGS)
- PEER Strong Motion Database
- Contains records for over 140 earthquakes worldwide (Pacific Earthquake Engineering Research Center)
- Regional Information (Earthquake Hazards Program)
- Information about earthquakes by region
- Significant Earthquakes of the World
- Information about significant earthquakes worldwide since 1980 (USGS)
- U.S. Geological Survey Earthquake Hazards Program
- USGS program to study earthquakes
- U.S. Geological Survey Volcano Hazards Program
- USGS program to study volcanoes; links to volcano observatories
- U.S. National Strong-Motion Program
- USGS program to study damaging earthquakes; includes data sets on earthquakes since 1933.
- Weekly Volcanic Activity Report (Worldwide, Smithsonian/USGS)
- Includes updates on current volcanic eruptions and activity
Other Sites about Earthquakes and Volcanoes
- Earthquake Engineering Research Institute
- Organization working to reduce earthquake risk through earthquake engineering
- Google: Earthquakes
- Links to a number of sites dealing with earthquakes and seismology.
- Google: Volcanoes
- Links to a number of sites dealing with volcanoes and volcanology.
- National Information Service for Earthquake Engineering
- Includes reports and images (UC Berkeley)
- Seismosurfing the Internet for Earthquake Data
- Links to a number of web sites on earthquakes (U of Washington)
- Yahoo!: Seismology
- Links to a number of sites dealing with earthquakes and seismology.
- Yahoo!: Volcanology
- Links to a number of sites dealing with volcanoes and volcanology.
Geology Librarian |
Annie PlatoffContact Info:
Davidson Library, Room 2523D
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
(805) 893-2074
Send Email
Subjects:
Earth Sciences, Geology
Davidson Library, Room 2523D
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
(805) 893-2074
Send Email
Subjects:
Earth Sciences, Geology
Earth Science at UCSB
Description
Loading content... please wait






Loading content... please wait