Why Use ...
Dictionaries:
- Subject dictionaries are a great way to familiarize yourself with words and phrases used in geology and Earth science.
Encyclopedias:
- Specialized encyclopedias provide excellent introductions to many aspects of geology and Earth science.
- Articles are usually written by experts in the subject, and will include a bibliography to get you started on your research.
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
- (for definitions and background information)
- Challinor's Dictionary of Geology
- SEL Ref QE 5 .C45 1985
- Chambers Earth Sciences Dictionary
- SEL Ref QE 5 .C453 1991
- Classification of Igneous Rocks & Glossary of Terms
- SEL Ref QE 461 .I547 1989
- Concise Oxford Dictionary of Earth Sciences
- SEL Ref QE 5 .C66 1991
- Dictionary of Concepts in Physical Geography
- SEL Ref GB 10 .H82 1988
- Dictionary of Earth Sciences

- Dictionary of Gems and Gemology
- SEL Ref QE 392 .M29 2005
- Dictionary of Geological Terms (AGI)
- SEL Ref QE 5 D55 1984
- Dictionary of Mining, Mineral and Related Terms
- SEL Ref TN 9 .T5
- Dictionary of Petrology
- SEL Ref QE 423 .T65 1983
- Dictionary of Rocks
- SEL Ref QE 423 .M58 1985
- Earth Science (5 vol. on different topics)
- SEL Ref QE 28 .E12 2001
- Earth Sciences Reference
- SEL Ref QE 5 .M366 1991
- Elsevier's Dictionary of Mining and Mineralogy
- SEL Ref TN 10 .D67 1993
- Encyclopedia of Coastal Science
- SEL TC203.7 .E53 2005
- Encyclopedia of Dinosaurs
- SEL Ref QE 862 .D5 C862 1997
- Encyclopedia of Earth Science
- SEL Ref QE 5 .K85 2005
- Encyclopedia of Earth Sciences (series, each vol. has different title)
- SEL Ref QE 5 .E58
- Encyclopedia of Earth System Science
- SEL Ref QE 5 .E514 1991
- Encyclopedia of Earthquakes and Volcanoes
- SEL Ref QE 521 .R58 2007
- Encyclopedia of Gemstones and Minerals
- SEL Ref QE 392 .H65 1991
- Encyclopedia of Geochemistry
- SEL Ref QE 515 .E48 1999
- Encyclopedia of Geology
- SEL Ref QE 5 .E516 2005
- Encyclopedia of Geomagnetism and Paleomagnetism

- Encyclopedia of Minerals
- SEL Ref QE 355 .R6 1990
- Encyclopedia of Paleoclimatology and Ancient Environments

- Encyclopedia of Paleontology
- SEL Ref QE 703 .E58 1999
- Encyclopedia of Prehistory
- SEL Ref QE 26.3 .L36 2002
- Encyclopedia of Quaternary Science
- SEL Ref QE 741 .E53 2007
- Encyclopedia of the Solid Earth Sciences
- SEL Ref QE 5 .E75 1993
- Encyclopedia of Sediments and Sedimentary Rocks
- SEL Ref QE 471.2 .E53 2003
- Encyclopedia of Volcanoes
- SEL Ref QE 522 .E53 2000
- Encyclopedic Dictionary of Exploration Geophysics
- SEL Ref TN 269 .S524 1991
- Facts on File Dictionary of Geology and Geophysics
- SEL Ref QE 5 .L29 1987
- Glossary of Geology (AGI)
- SEL Ref QE 5 .B38 2005
- Glossary of Mineral Species
- SEL Ref QE 355 .F56 1991
- Glossary of Mineral Synonyms
- SEL Ref QE 357 .F68 1999
- Hey's Mineral Index
- SEL Ref QE 357 .C53 1993
- Illustrated Encyclopedia of Dinosaurs
- SEL Ref QE 861.3 .D59 2007
- Illustrated Glossary of Petroleum Geochemistry
- SEL Ref TN 870.5 .M493 1989
- Illustrated Petroleum Reference Dictionary
- SEL Ref TN 865 .I43 1985
- International Petroleum Encyclopedia
- SEL Ref TN 865 .I52 1990
- Magill's Survey of Science. Earth Science Series
- SEL Ref QE 28 .M33 1990
- Mineral Reference Manual
- SEL Ref QE 372.2 .N53 1991
- Oxford Companion to the Earth
- SEL Ref QE 5 .O94 2000
- Simon & Schuster Encyclopedia of Dinosaurs & Prehistoric Creatures
- SEL Ref QE 841 .M225 1999
- Treatise on Geochemistry
- SEL Ref QE 515 .T69 2004
- Treatise on Geophysics
- SEL Ref QC 806 .T73 2007
Geology Librarian |
Annie PlatoffContact Info:
Davidson Library, Room 2523D
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
(805) 893-2074
Send Email
Subjects:
Earth Sciences, Geology
Davidson Library, Room 2523D
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
(805) 893-2074
Send Email
Subjects:
Earth Sciences, Geology
Earth Science at UCSB
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait