Off-campus?
Before searching, log into the proxy server and return here.
Items marked
are available only to UCSB students, faculty, and staff from off campus.
Recent Earthquakes
San Andreas Fault
Earthquakes and Volcanoes Library Research Guide
Find Articles: Geology Databases
- GeoRef
- The best database for geology and Earth science
- Includes citations to articles, maps, theses and dissertations, government publications, books, and reports
- Much more complete coverage of the topic than Web of Science
- Earthquake Engineering Abstracts
- The epicenter for research on earthquakes
- You should also search GeoRef when researching in this area
Find Articles: Other Databases Useful for These Topics
- Academic Search Complete
- (1984+) Provides basic articles about earthquakes and volcanoes. Includes new magazine accounts of quakes and eruptions.
- Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts
- (1978+) Marine geology, incl. earthquakes, tsunamis, & volcanism.
- Caltech Earthquake Engineering Research Laboratory Technical Reports
- (1952+) Includes full text reports produced by the lab.
- Compendex
- (1970+) Useful for earthquake engineering.
- Congressional Universe
- Congressional hearings on legislation related to earthquakes and eruptions.
- Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management
- (1981+) Ecological effects of earthquakes and volcanoes.
- Inspec
- (1969+) Covers computer modeling and geophysics of earthquakes and volcanism.
- NTIS
- (1990+; CD,1983-97): U.S. government technical reports on earthquakes and volcanoes.
- PubMed
- (1966+) Medical database; incl. information on health effects of earthquakes and volcanic eruptions.
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
- Dictionary of Geotechnics
- SEL Ref TA 706 .S65
- Encyclopedia of Earthquakes and Volcanoes
- SEL Ref QE 521 .R58 2001
- Encyclopedia of Geomorphology
- SEL Ref QE 5 .E58 v. 3
- Encyclopedia of the Solid Earth Sciences
- SEL Ref QE 5 .E75 1993
- Encyclopedia of Structural Geology and Plate Tectonics
- SEL Ref QE 5 .E58 v. 10
- Encyclopedia of Volcanoes
- SEL Ref QE 522 .E53 2000
- Glossary [Earthquakes]
- from "Washington State Earthquake Hazards" (U of Washington).
- Glossary of Earthquake and Related Terminology
- defines earthquake terminology (USGS).
- Glossary of Geology (AGI)
- SEL Ref QE 5 .B38 1997
- Glossary of Volcano and Related Terminology
- defines terms related to volcanoes (USGS).
- Learn About Volcanoes
- answers frequently asked questions about volcanoes (USGS).
- Magill's Survey of Science. Earth Science Series
- SEL Ref QE 28 .M33 1990
- Photo Glossary of Volcano Terms
- gives definitions of terms and an illustration (USGS).
- Visual Glossary [Earthquakes]
- defines terms related to earthquakes and includes illustrations.
Catalogs, Directories, Handbooks
- Catalog of Significant Earthquakes, 2000 B.C. - 1979
- SEL Stacks QE 535.2 .U6 G367 1981
- Directory of World Digital Seismic Stations
- SEL Ref QE 540 .A2 G367 1982
- Earthquake Disaster Reduction Handbook
- SEL QE 539.2 .S34 E27 1992
- Earthquake History of the United States
- SEL Ref QE 535 .E18 1982
- Earthquakes and Earthquake Faults of California
- SEL Ref QE 606.5 .U6 E27 1980
- Earthquakes, Tides, Unidentified Sounds and Related Phenomena
- SEL Ref QE 53 .C65 1983
- Regional Catalogue of Earthquakes
- SEL Stacks QE 532 .R43
- United States Earthquakes
- GovPubs C 55.226, C 55.417/2, C 4.25/2
- Volcanoes of the World
- SEL Ref QE 522 .V92
Geology Librarian |
Annie PlatoffEarth Science at UCSB
Description
Loading content... please wait






Loading content... please wait