General Interest Sites and Super Sites
USGS
- Ask-A-Geologist
- from the U.S. Geological Survey; Email questions to Ask-A-Geologist@usgs.gov.
- GEODE
- GEO-DATA Explorer; geospacial data including satellite images, geologic maps, graphics, three-dimensional images, spreadsheet data, etc.
- Geology
- introduction to geological information from the US Geological Survey.
- Geopubs
- on-line geologic publications of the western United States (USGS).
- USGS Fact Sheets
- site provides full text.
- USGS Books and Other Publications
- links to full text of selected USGS publications.
General Geology Sites
-
Earthworks
- database of jobs in the geosciences.
- Encyclopedia of Earth
- A free, fully searchable collection of articles written by scholars, professionals, educators, and experts who collaborate and review each other's work.
- Geology.com
- General geology site with information on a variety of topics. Includes a geological dictionary.
- Geology Image Gallery
- Includes images that illustrate different geological terms.
- GeologyLink
- Includes a geology glossary and other links of interest to geologists.
- Geologic Guidebooks of North America
- identify a guidebook for a particular region (American Geological Institute).
- Virtual and On-line Geologic Field Trip Guides
- links to geological field trip sites (University of Texas).
Web Directories and Gateways
- Galaxy.com
- Geosciences: links to a number of sites relevant to geosciences.
- GeoIndex
- search engine for geotechnology, environmental science, hydrogeology, geology, mining, and petroleum geology.
- Google: Geology
- links to a number of sites dealing with geology. Includes links to Google directories on related disciplines such as geochemistry and geophysics.
- Intute Earth Sciences Gateway
- searchable guide to earth sciences information on the web.
- Yahoo: Geology and Geophysics Page
- links to a number of sites dealing with geology and geophysics.
Geology Librarian |
Annie PlatoffEarth Science at UCSB
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait