Off-campus?
Before searching, log into the proxy server and return here.
Items marked
are available only to UCSB students, faculty, and staff from off campus.
Need Help?
Ask a Librarian!
-
Open 24 hours a day,
- 7 days a week.
- Get help by email within 24 hours.
- Sign up for personalized research help.
Find articles
Find Articles, Citations, Reviews, and more in these Indexes and Databases:
- GeoRef
- The best database for geology and Earth science
- North American geology: 1785 to present
- World geology: 1933-present
- Includes citations to articles, maps, theses and dissertations, government publications, books, and reports
- Much more complete coverage of the topic than Web of Science
- Web of Science
- (1945+)
- Science Citation Index online -- great database for citation searching
- Earthquake Engineering Abstracts
- The epicenter for research on earthquakes
- You should also search GeoRef when researching in this area
UCSB E-Journals:
Additional Print Indexes and Abstracts (SEL Abstract/Index Area)
- Deep Sea Research Part B: Oceanographic Literature Review
- (1967-1992) -- SEL Ref GC 1 .D45
- Mineralogical Abstracts
- (1923-2003) -- SEL Ref QE 1 .M55
Other Databases That Might be Useful for Geologists
- Academic Search Complete
- (1984+) Provides basic articles (popular and some scholarly) on all subjects including geological research.
- Biosis Previews
- (1985+) Biology database useful for paleontology.
-
Compendex
- (1970+) Engineering database, covers remote sensing applications.
- InfoMine
- Indexes web sites in a variety of subjects.
- Inspec
- (1969+) Covers geophysics; also covers computers & software in geological research.
- MathSciNet
- (1940+) Mathematical treatment of remote sensing.
- NTIS
- (1990+; CD,1983-97): U.S. government technical reports on all subjects, including geology.
- SciFinder Scholar
- (1907+) Chemical Abstracts online; useful for Geochemistry.
- Spatial Data over the Web
- http://www.alexandria.ucsb.edu/other-sites/
- Water Resources Abstracts
- (1967+) Covers technical and scientific literature on water-related topics.
Geology Librarian |
Annie PlatoffEarth Science at UCSB
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait