Armenian Belorussian Bulgarian Church Slavic Georgian Non-Slavic in Cyrillic Script Russian Serbian & Macedonian Ukrainian 
Russian News & NewspapersRussian Transliteration Table Slavic 101A 
SLAV 101A 
BibliographiesBiographiesBiography Reference SourcesEncyclopediasHistory of Eastern EuropeLiterature Reference WorksRussia: DemographicsRussian News & Newspapers 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Slavic and Eastern European Studies  Tags: russian eastern_europe slavic_studies  

Describes research sources for Russia, Eastern Europe, and the former Soviet Union.
Last update: Nov 13th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.ucsb.edu/slavic  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Encyclopedias             Print Page
  
 

Saint Basil's

Saint Basil's Cathedral

View of Red Square showing Saint Basil's Cathedral.

 
 

Encyclopedias in English

  • Cambridge Encyclopedia of Russia and the Former Soviet Union. 2nd, ed.
    • Cambridge : Cambridge University Press, 1994
    • Reference DK14.C35 1994 [non-circulating]
  • Encyclopedia of Ukraine. Toronto : University of Toronto Press, 1984-1993.
    • In 5 vols.
    • Reference DK508 .E613 1984 [non-circulating]
  • Great Soviet Encyclopedia. New York : MacMillan, 1983-1993.
    • English version of Большая советская энциклопедия
    • AE55.B613 1970 [non-circulating]
    • Search topics in Index first.
    • Also available in Russian (see list below)
  • Russian History Encyclopedia
 

Encyclopedias in Russian

  • Большая советская энциклопедия (Great Soviet Encyclopedia)
    • while outdated, it is the most complete Russian-language encyclopedia available
    • Note:  this source has a Soviet bias
    • 1970 edition:  Reference AE55 .B6
    • 1950 edition:  AE55 .B6
  • Новая российская энциклопедия (New Russian Encyclopedia)
    • Main Reference Area AE55.N69
    • Only Volume 1 & 2 were ever published.
    • Vol. 1 is about Russia. Vol. 2 covers the beginning of the alphabet.
 

Questions?

Profile ImageAnnie Platoff
Contact Info:
Davidson Library, Room 2523D
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
(805) 893-2074
Send Email

Subjects:
Slavic Studies, Eastern European Studies, Russian Language

 

Copyright © 2008 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
Davidson Library (805) 893-2478 • Arts Library (805) 893-2850 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies
Description

  Loading content... please wait