What's on this page?
This page lists print and online resources covering aspects of identity politics.
Identity Politics
Hate Groups and Extremist Organizations in America by Call Number: Access OnlineISBN: 9781440857515Publication Date: 2019
The International Handbook of the Demography of Race and Ethnicity by
Examining key countries in every region of world, this handbook presents population profiles and analyses concerning racial/ethnic disparities and changing intergroup relations. Inside, prominent scholars from various parts of the world and disciplines address the links between stratification, demography, and conflict across the globe. Organized by region/continent, coverage for each profiled country includes demographic information; a historical overview that addresses past racial/ethnic conflict; identification of the most salient demographic trends and issues that the country faces; theoretical issues related to the linkages between stratification, demography, and conflict; methodological issues including quality of data and cutting-edge methods to better understand the issue at hand; and details on the possible future of the existing trends and issues with particular emphasis on public policy and human rights. This handbook will help readers to better understand the commonalities and differences that exist globally in the interplay between stratification, demography, and conflict. In addition, it also provides an excellent inventory of theoretical perspectives and methodological approaches that are needed to better comprehend this issue. This handbook will appeal to students, researchers, and policy analysts in the areas of race and ethnic relations, demography, inequality, international sociology, international relations, foreign studies, social geography, and social development.
Call Number: Access OnlineISBN: 9048188911Publication Date: 2015
Latinos in the American Political System: an Encyclopedia of Latinos As Voters, Candidates, and Office Holders [2 Volumes] by Call Number: Access OnlineISBN: 1440853479Publication Date: 2019
LGBTQ Americans in the U. S. Political System: an Encyclopedia of Activists, Voters, Candidates, and Officeholders [2 Volumes] by Call Number: Access OnlineISBN: 1440852774Publication Date: 2019
The Oxford encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in contemporary politics, law, and social movements by Call Number: Access OnlineISBN: 9780199744626Publication Date: 2015
The Oxford Handbook of Islam and Politics by Call Number: Access Online & Main Library BP173.7 .O945 2013 [Regular Loan]ISBN: 9780195395891Publication Date: 2013
The Oxford Handbook of Gender and Politics by Call Number: Main Library HQ1236 .O99 2013 [Regular Loan]ISBN: 9780199751457Publication Date: 2013
The Oxford Handbook of Global LGBT and Sexual Diversity Politics by Call Number: Main Library HQ76.5 .O94 2020 [Regular Loan]ISBN: 9780190673741Publication Date: 2020
The Oxford Handbook of the Radical Right by Call Number: Main Library HN49.R33 O94 2018 [Regular Loan]ISBN: 9780190274559Publication Date: 2018
The Oxford Handbook of U. S. Women's Social Movement Activism by Call Number: Access Online & Main Library HQ1236.5.U6 O94 2017 [Regular Loan]ISBN: 9780190204204Publication Date: 2017
The Palgrave Handbook of Women’s Political Rights by Call Number: Access OnlineISBN: 1137590742Publication Date: 2019This Palgrave Handbook provides a definitive account of women’s political rights across all major regions of the world, focusing both on women’s right to vote and women’s right to run for political office. This dual focus makes this the first book to combine historical overviews of debates about enfranchising women alongside analyses of more contemporary efforts to increase women’s political representation around the globe.
The Princeton Encyclopedia of Islamic Political Thought by Call Number: Main Ref JC49 .P75 2013 [Non-circulating]ISBN: 9780691134840Publication Date: 2013
The Routledge Handbook of Disability Activism by Call Number: Access OnlineISBN: 1351165062Publication Date: 2019-10-28
Routledge Handbook of Political Islam by Call Number: Main Library DS63.1 .R68 2012 [Regular Loan]ISBN: 9780415484732Publication Date: 2012
Routledge Handbook of Religion and Politics by Call Number: Main Library BL65.P7 R78 2016 [Regular Loan]ISBN: 9781138826991Publication Date: 2016
The Routledge Handbook to Religion and Political Parties by Call Number: Main Library BL65.P7 R79 2020ISBN: 9781138500464Publication Date: 2020
Women in the American Political System: an Encyclopedia of Women As Voters, Candidates, and Office Holders [2 Volumes] by Call Number: Access OnlineISBN: 1610699742Publication Date: 2018-12-01
Groups that focus on issues of race, ethnicity, gender and sexual orientation, and religion in American politics and culture.
American Hellenic Educational Progressive Association.
- Seeks to promote the ancient Hellenic ideals of education, philanthropy, civic responsibility, integrity, and family and individual excellence through community service and volunteerism.
Anti-Defamation League. (ADL)
- Organization that "fights anti-Semitism and all forms of bigotry in the U.S. and abroad through information, education, legislation, and advocacy."
Arab American Institute.
- A nonprofit organization committed to the civic and political empowerment of Americans of Arab descent.
American-Arab Anti-Discrimination Committee. (ADC)
- A civil rights organization committed to defending the rights of people of Arab descent and promoting their rich cultural heritage.
Center for American Women and Politics. (CAWP)
- The leading source of scholarly research and current data about American women’s political participation, CAWP's mission is to promote greater knowledge and understanding about women in politics and government, and to enhance women's influence and leadership in public life.
Children's Defense Fund.
- A non-profit child advocacy organization that supports policies and programs that lift children out of poverty; protects them from abuse and neglect; and ensures their access to health care, quality education and a moral and spiritual foundation.
Family Research Council.
- A national organization that advances "faith, family and freedom in public policy and the culture from a Christian worldview." The Council holds strong positions against same-sex marriage and abortion, and holds that "Religious observance has a distinctly positive effect on community and national life."
Iranian-American Political Action Committee. (IAPAC)
- This bipartisan political action committee contributes to candidates for public office who are attuned to the concerns of the Iranian American community, and supports and encourages Iranian Americans to actively participate in the U.S. democratic process and run for public office.
Japanese American Citizens League. (JACL)
- JACL monitors and responds to issues that enhance or threaten the civil and human rights of all Americans and implements strategies to effect positive social change, particularly to the Asian Pacific American community.
National Association for the Advancement of Colored People. (NAACP)
- The NAACP works to ensure the political, educational, social, and economic equality of rights of all persons and to eliminate race-based discrimination.
National Council of Asian Pacific Americans. (NCAPA)
- A coalition of national Asian Pacific American organizations around the country that serves to represent the interests of the greater Asian American (AA) and Native Hawaiian Pacific Islander (NHPI) communities and to provide a national voice for AA and NHPI issues.
National Gay & Lesbian Task Force.
- Works to advance full freedom, justice and equality for LGBTQ people.
National Organization for Marriage.
- Nonprofit founded in 2007 to provide an organized opposition to same-sex marriage in state legislatures and at the local level.
National Organization for Women. (NOW)
- Since its founding in 1966, NOW has worked to promote feminist ideals, lead societal change, eliminate discrimination, and achieve and protect the equal rights of all women and girls in all aspects of social, political, and economic life.
OCA. (formerly the Organization of Chinese Americans)
- A national organization dedicated to advancing the social, political, and economic well-being of Asian Pacific Americans.
ProEnglish.
- Organization that seeks to persuade lawmakers to adopt English as the official language at all levels of government.
UnidosUS.
- Formerly known as the National Council of La Raza, UnidosUS serves the Hispanic community through research, policy analysis, and state and national advocacy efforts, as well as through program work in communities nationwide in the areas of civic engagement, civil rights and immigration, education, workforce and the economy, health, and housing.
Two additional lists of resources for identity politics, especially statistical and data resources, are found at Princeton University Library's Politics Resources Guide for: