What's on this page?
This page gives links and citations to sources of information on campaigns and elections, and campaign finance.
Campaign & Election Sources
General Campaign & Election Sources:
Elections A to Z.
[online resource; UCSB IP addresses only]
Thousand Oaks, Calif.: SAGE Publications, 2012.
- Explains how campaigns and elections - House, Senate, presidential, and some state-level elections - are conducted in the United States.
Almanac of State Legislative Elections by Call Number: Main Ref JK1967 .A77 2008ISBN: 9780872895515Publication Date: 2008
- America votesHandbook of contemporary American election statistics.
Washington: Elections Research Center, Congressional Quarterly
Main Ref JK1967 .A8 [Non-circulating]
v.1 (1956)-v.23 (1998)
Atlas of the 2016 Elections by Call Number: Sciences & Engineering, Oversize G1201.F9 A8 2018 [Regular Loan]ISBN: 9781538104224Publication Date: 2018
Atlas of the 2012 Elections by Call Number: Sciences & Engineering G1201.F9 A8 2014 [Regular Loan]ISBN: 9781442225831Publication Date: 2014
Atlas of the 2008 Elections by Call Number: Sciences & Engineering G1201.F9 A8 2011 [Regular Loan]ISBN: 9780742567955Publication Date: 2011
Encyclopedia of American Political Parties and Elections by Call Number: Main Ref JK2261 .S218 2006 [Non-circulating]ISBN: 9780816058754Publication Date: 2006
Funding of Political Parties and Election Campaigns by Call Number: Main Library JF2112.C8 F86 2014 [Regular Loan]ISBN: 9789187729249Publication Date: 2014
Guide to U. S. Elections by Call Number: Main Ref JK1967 .G85 2016 [Non-circulating]ISBN: 9781483380360Publication Date: 2016
Historical Atlas of U. S. Presidential Elections 1788-2004 by Call Number: Sciences & Engineering G1201.F9 H5 2006 [Regular Loan]ISBN: 9781568029559Publication Date: 2006
The Oxford Handbook of American Elections and Political Behavior by Call Number: Main Library JK1976 .O94 2010 [Regular Loan]ISBN: 9780199235476Publication Date: 2010
Praeger Handbook of Political Campaigning in the United States by Call Number: Main Library JK2281 .P73 2016 [Regular Loan]ISBN: 9781440831621Publication Date: 2016
Presidential Elections 1789-2000. by Call Number: Geospatial Collection, Map Room Atlases JK1968 2000 .P74 2001Publication Date: 2001located in Special Research Collections
Presidential Elections, 1789-2008 by Call Number: Access OnlineISBN: 9781604266542Publication Date: 2009
The Routledge Handbook of Elections, Voting Behavior and Public Opinion by Call Number: Main Library JF1001 .R62 2018 [Regular Loan]ISBN: 9781138890404Publication Date: 2018
Voter Turnout in the United States 1788-2009 by Call Number: Main Ref JK1967 .G357 2011 [Non-circulating]ISBN: 9781604265958Publication Date: 2011
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Commission on Presidential Debates. (CPD)
- Established in 1987 to ensure that debates, as a permanent part of every general election, provide the best possible information to viewers and listeners.
- Holds debate transcripts from 1960 and from 1972-present.
The living room candidate: Presidential campaign commercials.
- Commercials from every presidential election between 1952-2020.
A New Nation Votes: American Election Returns, 1787-1825.
- A database compiled by Philip Lampi and presented online by The American Antiquarian Society and Tufts University Digital Collections and Archives.
Record of American Democracy. (ROAD)
- From Harvard University, an "aggregate data set on American politics" … with "election returns, socioeconomic summaries, and demographic measures of the American public at unusually low levels of geographic aggregation" covering "every state in the country from 1984 through 1990 (including some off-year elections)."
Rutgers University. Center for American Women and Politics. Election Watch.
- A site for data and analysis of women's voting behavior and participation in government.
United States Census. Voting and Registration page.
- Voting and registration data, plus demographic and socioeconomic characteristics, collected in November of Congressional and Presidential election years in the Current Population Survey (CPS) - a monthly survey of about 50,000 households conducted by the Bureau of the Census for the Bureau of Labor Statistics.
Library of Congress. United States Elections Web Archive.
- Includes sites archived weekly during the election seasons since 2000, documenting sites associated with the Presidential, Congressional, and gubernatorial elections.
Election Results, National:
- Election StatisticsU.S. Congress. Clerk of the House.
Since 1920, the Clerk of the House has collected and published the official vote counts for federal elections. - Electoral College ResultsUnited States. National Archives and Records Administration (NARA)
Electoral votes, popular votes, electors, and certificates of past presidential elections. - American National Election Studies (ANES)ANES conducts national surveys of the American electorate in election years (and pilot studies in-between election years) to document long-term trends in voting, public opinion and political participation, as well as the political impact of historical events.
America at the Polls 1920-1956 by Call Number: Main Ref JK524 .A73 1994 [Non-circulating]ISBN: 1568020589Publication Date: 1994v. 1 Harding to Eisenhower, 1920-1956;
v. 2 Kennedy to Clinton, 1960-1992
Exit polls : surveying the American electorate, 1972-2010 by Call Number: Main Library JK2007 . B47 2012 [Regular Loan]ISBN: 9781608717415Publication Date: 2012
Statistical History of the American Electorate by Call Number: Main Ref JK1967 .R87 2001 [Non-circulating]ISBN: 1568023642Publication Date: 2001
United States Congressional Elections, 1788-1997 by Call Number: Main Ref JK1967 .D77 1998 [Non-circulating]ISBN: 0786402830Publication Date: 1998
United States Presidential Elections, 1788-1860 by Call Number: Main Ref JK524 .D778 2002 [Non-circulating]ISBN: 0786410175Publication Date: 2002
United States Presidential Primary Elections, 2000-2004 by Call Number: Main Ref JK522 .C662 2007 [Non-circulating]ISBN: 9780872893283Publication Date: 2007
Election Results, State:
- State Legislative Election Returns in the United States SeriesInter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
A data series that seeks to extend detailed study of electoral and governmental processes in the United States to the state and local levels, and to encourage comparative analyses of voting patterns, political party competition, and partisan control between different states or regions. ICPSR's holdings of state legislative election returns data cover the years 1968-1989 (ICPSR 8907), and 1993-1994 (ICPSR 2019). The datasets include election returns at the district, county, constituency, and candidate levels for state legislative races contested in all 50 states in the United States. Included also are special election returns, when provided as part of the official returns for the states (ICPSR 2019), and primary election returns for 16 southern and border states in the period 1968-1989 (ICPSR 8907).
- Almanac of State Legislative Elections by Call Number: Main Ref JK1967 .A77 2008ISBN: 9780872895515Publication Date: 2008
Election Results, California:
- Elections and Voter InformationCalifornia Secretary of State.
Information on upcoming elections, and links to prior statewide and special election-related results, including:
Registration Statistics
Historical Voter Registration and Participation in Statewide General Elections 1910-2018
Historical Voter Registration and Participation in Statewide Primary Elections 1910-2020
Vote-by-Mail Statistics
National Voter Registration Act Reports. - Statewide Election ResultsCalifornia Secretary of State.
Election results dating back to 1990. - California Elections Data Archive (CEDA)A statewide database of local election results, from CEDA - a joint project of California State University's Center for California Studies and its Institute for Social Research, and the office of the California Secretary of State.
- League of Women Voters of California Education Fund Elections pageIncludes an election archive for California State elections dating back to June 1998.
Election Results, Local:
- City of Santa Barbara Elections Home pageSanta Barbara County. Clerk-Recorder, Assessor and Elections Department. Elections web page
Election Results, International and Other Nations:
- Lijphart Election Archive. (LEA)Housed at the University of California, San Diego, the Archive is a static research collection (through 2003) of district-level election results for approximately 350 national legislative elections in 26 countries, including results reported in print as well as results from online sources.
- Global Elections Database.The Global Elections Database (formerly known as the Constituency-Level Elections Dataset) provides information on the results of both national and sub-national elections around the world. These data are presented at two levels of analysis, allowing users to quickly identify the results of elections within a country as a whole or within particular constituencies or districts of a country.
- Constituency-Level Elections Archive. (CLEA)CLEA is a repository of detailed election results at the constituency level for lower house legislative elections from around the world.
- Center on Democratic Performance. Election results archive. (ERA)Electronic files of data on election results from around the world, from Binghamton University's Center on Democratic Performance.
Government Sources, Federal:
- Federal Election Commission. (FEC)The FEC administers and enforces the Federal Election Campaign Act (FECA) - the statute that governs the financing of federal elections. See especially the FEC's Campaign Finance Data (with candidate, PAC and Party summaries) and the FEC's Downloadable bulk data pages.
- United States House of Representatives. Office of the Clerk. Public Disclosure page.Members, officers, and staff of the U.S. House of Representatives are required by certain House Rules and federal statutes to file official documents on travel, income, gifts, etc. and to make this information available to the public as Public Disclosure documents found here.
- United States Senate. Select Committee on Ethics. Financial Disclosure page.Members, officers, and certain employees of the United States Senate, related offices, and candidates for the Senate are required by Title I of the Ethics in Government Act of 1978, as amended (5 U.S.C. app., Section 101 et seq., also adopted as Senate Rule 34) and Senate Rule 41.1 to file Financial Disclosure Reports with the Secretary of the Senate, Office of Public Records, and these can be found here.
Non-government Sources, Federal:
- CampaignMoney.comA non-partisan web site that makes available the names of financial donors to federal political campaigns.
- CQ's Political MoneyLine.Information on campaign finance; PACs, parties and 527s; candidates; and lobbyists, lobby firms and their clients.
Data from 1979/80 to the present day. - OpenSecrets.orgA web site of the Center for Responsive Politics that focuses on tracking the influence of money on U.S. politics, and how that money affects public policy and citizens' lives. See especially OpenSecrets' Influence & Lobbying pages and its Campaign Finance Links (under the News & Analysis tab).
- Vote Smart.Provides non-partisan information on U.S. federal and state candidates and elected officials, ballot measures, issues and legislation, including voting records, campaign contributions, public statements and biographical data, plus evaluations from a wide range of special interest groups.
State Sources:
- National Institute on Money in State Politics. Follow the Money.Promotes an accountable democracy by compiling comprehensive campaign-donor, lobbyist, and other information from government disclosure agencies nationwide to show how political donations work to shape public policy in state politics.
- California Secretary of State. Cal-Access.Provides financial information supplied by state candidates, donors, lobbyists, and others.