United Nations Association - SB ChapterSB Intercollegiate Model UN ConferenceWestern Model UN Conference
This is the "Home" page of the "United Nations" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Last Updated: May 12, 2016 URL: http://guides.library.ucsb.edu/un Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

UN News Center

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Introduction

The Library at the University of California, Santa Barbara actively collects select publications published by many international governmental organizations such as the United Nations, World Bank, International Monetary Fund, Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, World Health Organization, and the European Communities.  International publications can be located through the UCSB Library Catalog. United Nations Documents are not individually cataloged, but are housed in a microfiche collection in the Government Information Center.

We collect major publications from foreign countries.  They can be identified through the UCSB Library Catalog. Some foreign publications are uncataloged and housed in the Government Information Center.

 

    Key Resources @ UCSB

    • Access UN (Official Document Service)
      The Official Document System (ODS) is an online database of UN documents. ODS has full-text, born-digital UN documents published from 1993 onward, including documents of the Security Council, the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council and their subsidiaries, as well as administrative issuances and other documents.

      The database also includes scanned documents published between 1946 and 1993, including all resolutions of the principal organs, all documents of the Security Council and the General Assembly Official Records.
    • UNBISnet (UN Bibliographic Information System)
      Catalogue of United Nations(UN) documents and publications indexed by the UN Dag Hammarskjöld Library and the Library of the UN Office at Geneva. Also included are commercial publications and other non-UN sources held in the collection of the Dag Hammarskjöld Library.
    • UN-I-QUE (UN Info Quest),
      UN-I-QUE (UN Info Quest), a ready-reference file created by the Dag Hammarskjöld Library to respond to frequently asked questions, is designed to provide quick access to document symbols/sales numbers for UN materials (1946 onwards). It does not give full bibliographic details nor does it replace existing bibliographic databases (UNBISnet) produced by the Library. UN-I-QUE focuses upon documents and publications of a recurrent nature: annual/sessional reports of committees/commissions; annual publications; reports periodically/irregularly issued; reports of major conferences; statements in the General Debate; etc. Information within each record is presented in reverse chronological order to facilitate identification of the most recent data.
    • UN data
      Useful features like Country Profiles, Advanced Search and Glossaries are also provided to aid research. The numerous databases, tables and glossaries containing over 60 million data points cover a wide range of themes including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators. Whilst this initial version of UNdata is fully equipped with all the functionalities for data access, the development team is continuously adding new databases and features to further enhance the usefulness to users. When fully developed, UNdata will have a comprehensive array of international and national databases providing the world instant access to a wealth of statistical information.
    • The Yearbook of the United Nations
      The authoritative reference work on the UN System

    Questions?

    Profile Image
    Angela Boyd
    Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
    Contact Info
    UCSB Library
    Room 2523G
    (805) 893-5086 (tel)
    aboyd@ucsb.edu
     

    Copyright © 2008-2016 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
    Davidson Library (805) 893-2478 • Arts Library (805) 893-2850 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
    Contact UsPolicies
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip