LibGuides: Dance: Video

DVD & VHS in UCSB Library

Use ADVANCED SEARCH to locate videos held in the UCSB Library Media Collection.
Limit to UC LIBRARY CATALOG (for DVD/Blu-ray/VHS)
- leave as ARTICLES, BOOKS, AND MORE to include Streaming Video in search results
Enter search terms as needed.
- Tip: use quotations marks around title or phrase (ie: "romeo and juliet") for enhanced specificity
- Or choose limiters like Title Contains/Starts With
In the MATERIAL TYPE field, choose VIDEO/FILM to target your search. (see image below)

Locate:

UCSB Library's circulating Media Collection is located on Floor 2 Ocean Side in Main Library
The Music Library maintains a separate non-circulating media collection
Some videos may also be located in Special Collections

View:

All public computers are equipped with VLC Media Player (handles most DVD formats and regions).
UCSB Library maintains two TV viewing stations for individual viewing
- one with VHS/region free DVD capacity, one with Blu-ray player
- available on a first-come basis; inquire at Services Desk
Music Library maintains its own viewing rooms
- available on a first-come basis
Contact Special Collections directly to arrange viewing of their video materials

Streaming Video Collections (UCSB Library)

Dance Online: Dance in Video This link opens in a new window
Date Coverage: 20th Century
Materials Indexed: Video
Digital Theatre+
Ethnographic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Materials Indexed: Video
Music Online: Opera in Video This link opens in a new window
Date Coverage: 1933-present
Materials Indexed: Interviews; Video
Theatre in Video: Volume I This link opens in a new window
Materials Indexed: Interviews; Plays; Video

Streaming Video Archives (Free)

Dance Heritage Coalition - Secure Media Network
" > streamable files of moving images that have been digitized for preservation and access under this program.
> a searchable database of moving images held by dance libraries. Most of these have never been publicly released."
Jacob's Pillow: Pillow TV
YouTube
Jacob's Pillow Dance Interactive
"Welcome to this free video resource curated by America's longest running dance festival. Click ARTIST, GENRE, or ERA to find dance clips spanning from the 1930s to today."
NUMERIDANSE.TV
Free access to filmed performances, documentaries, interviews, fictions, dance videos.
more...less...
Numeridanse is a multimedia dance platform. It offers free access to a unique video base: filmed performances, documentaries, interviews, fictions, dance videos. Every single genre, style and form is showcased here: butoh, classical ballet, neo-classical ballet, baroque, Indian, African, flamenco, contemporary, traditional dances, hip-hop, tango, jazz, circus arts, performance, etc.

Numeridanse is headed and coordinated by the Maison de la Danse, Lyon, and was imagined by the director Charles Picq. Since the outset, Numeridanse was created and has been developed hand-in-hand with the French National Centre for Dance (CND) and has been supported by the BNP Paribas Foundation and the French Ministry for Culture.
NYPL Jerome Robbins Dance Division Moving Image Archive
FYI: most works still need to be viewed ON SITE at NYPL
Hemispheric Institute of the Americas (NYU)
Online archive of rare video documenting social performance in the Americas.