Off-campus?
Before searching, log into the proxy server and return here.
Items marked
are available only to UCSB students, faculty, and staff from off campus.
InterLibrary Loan
Check the status of your ILL requests:
Request an item directly from Melvyl or a database (FASTEST service):
- Melvyl (books)
- Article Indexes and Databases (using "UC-eLinks")
Ask a Librarian
Congressional Serial Set
The United States Congressional Serial Set is comprised of the numbered Senate and House documents and reports from 1817 to present, which are bound by session of Congress. Reports and documents from 1789-1816 can be found in the American State Papers.
UCSB subscribes to the full text Serial Set from 1817-1980, and American State Papers 1789-1838, through the Archive of Americana.
They are indexed 1789+, and full text 1990+, through LexisNexis Congressional.
Reports and documents from 1995 are freely available online in GPO Access and Thomas.
The print and fiche Serial Set must be retrieved by volume number: click on a title LexisNexis Congressional to find this.
[Note: For years 1970-1978, these numbers do not appear in LexisNexis Congressional: consult the Numerical Lists and Schedule of Volumes of the Reports and Documents of the…Congress: Government Information Center Reference GP 3.7/2:]
Locating Materials
- The first 14 Congresses (1789-1816) were not part of the official Serial Set; these documents can be found in American State Papers
- American State Papers [via Library of Congress] (free access)
- Archive of Americana
(UCSB login required) - Print: Wyles Collection (Special Collections Library): J33 U5
- Microfiche: Government Information Center: Y1.1/2:
- Congresses 15-95 (1817-1980)
- Archive of Americana
(UCSB login required) coverage until 1980 - Microfiche: Government Information Center: Y1.1/2:
- Some volumes in print in Government Information Center: Y1.1/2: search
holdings in Pegasus (search title: congressional serial set)
- Some volumes in print in Government Information Center: Y1.1/2: search
holdings in Pegasus (search title: congressional serial set)
- Archive of Americana
- Congresses 96 - present (1979+ )
- Microfiche: Government Information Center
- Search PEGASUS by title to find call number of individual documents and reports:
- 96th Congress: X96…
- 97th Congress to present: Y1.1/3: Senate documents
- Y1.1/4: Senate treaty documents
- Y1.1/5: Senate reports
- Y1.1/6: Senate executive reports
- Y1.1/7: House documents
- Y1.1/8: House reports
- Many House and Senate Reports, 1990+, and Documents, 1995+, are full text in:
- LexisNexis Congressional
(UCSB login) - GPO Access (free access)
- Thomas (free access)
- LexisNexis Congressional
Librarian |
Chris GranatinoDavidson Library, Room 2523
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
(805)893-6073
Send Email
Subjects:
Government Information
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait