This is the "Home" page of the "Collection Managers' Manual" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Collection Managers' Manual  

Last Updated: Nov 3, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.ucsb.edu/cmm Print Guide

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Overview of Contents

This new edition of the CMM, like the old, is intended as a collection development resource for collection managers to refer to when in need of information related to the countless tasks, situations, and responsibilities that surface on a daily basis when selecting library materials, maintaining a collection, and interacting with ARMS (Acquisitions & Resource Management) and users.  In addition, the Manual provides an overview of the collection development culture and philosophy of UCSB Library.

  • Home
    Collections Overview; Overview of Contents; Current Projects
  • History and Culture
    History of the CMM; overview of collection development culture and issues
  • First Day Kit
    Serials list by fund code; Monographic Series Lists; Commitment and Expenditures; Report; Collection Development Policies; YBP Approval Plan Descriptions and Profiles; Helpful Hints for Collection Managers; UC Bibliographer Groups; Subject Specialists; Faculty Liaison Best Practices
  • Responsibilities & Competencies
    Collection Management Responsibilities (Generic Statement of Professional Duties, Collection Manager Orientation Responsibilities Checklist, Coordinators Professional Duties & Responsibilities, Head of Collection Development, Collection Services Division AUL)
  • Budget & Ordering
    Commitment & Expenditures Report, Spending Deadlines, Perennial Issues (allocations, the budget, funds), Ordering (direct orders, rush orders, notify orders)
  • Approval Plans & GOBI Orders
    GOBI Guides (notifications, ordering, approval activity, using folders) Other Approval Plans
  • eBooks
    eBooks in GOBI, Direct order ebooks, systemwide
  • Serials
    Systemwide (Request for SCP Cataloging of OA journals, CDC Journal Evaluation Project, 2011-2012); UCSB (serials lists, guidelines, serials reviews); ALEPH; ULrich's
  • ALEPH
    ALEPH For Collection Managers (Viewing Budgets, Viewing Monograph Orders); Reports (C&E, Monograph Expenditures, Standing Orders)
  • Systemwide
    Tools For Collection Managers (Helpline, Licensing Toolkit, Request for SCP Cataloging of OA Journals, Resource Liaisons, Bibliographer Groups, CDL Licensing Workplan); California Digital Library (Collection Development and Management Program, Collection Development Framework, Committees and Groups, Information for Campus Libraries, Principles for Acquiring and Licensing Information in Digital Format)
  • Dissertations
    UC Information (UCSB Guide to Filing Theses and Dissertations, Proquest Dissertations and Theses, Binding); Other Information (Copyright Law and Graduate Research, Networked Digital Library Theses and Dissertations), PQDT
  • Assessment and Management
    Monograph Expenditures Report, Lost and Withdrawn Books, ILL Reports, LCSH Online, Collection Analysis Tool
  • Gifts
    What to do With Gifts? (Gift Acceptance Policy, Gift Acceptance Agreement); Add to Collections Priority Gifts Shelf
  • Storage
  • Preservation
    UCSB (UCSB EZID Accounts, Binding Shipment Dates, Conservation Staff; Systemwide (Preservation Advisory Group, UC3)
  • ARMS Units & Personnel
    Acquisitions and Resources Management units and personnel include monograph ordering, monograph receiving, serials ordering, serials receiving, serials e-resources, cataloging and maintenance, book fund accounting, conservation

Current Projects

Previous years are on the old Manual.


Copyright © 2008-2014 The Regents of the University of California, All Rights Reserved.
Davidson Library (805) 893-2478 • Arts Library (805) 893-2850 • UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
Contact UsPolicies
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip