Subject Guide
Univ. of California, Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9010
cfhuber@ucsb.edu
Locating Books
To locate books on your topic, use the UC Library Search. As a starting point, use a keyword search on the likely terms. For collections of data, add handbooks or tables to your keywords.
If you find a relevant record, check its subject headings to see if there is alternative terminology you should try. Similarly, use keyword searches to find books on particular analytical methods (mass spectrometry, atomic absorption). You may also want to browse in the book stacks. Useful call nubmer ranges include:
- Spectroscopy QC 450-467 (in chemical analysis, QD 95-97)
- General physical chemistry QD 450-458
- Quantum chemistry QD 462
- Physical inorganic chemistry QD 475
- Physical inorganic chemistry QD 476
- Chemical reaction kinetics, mechanisms, catalysis QD 501-505
- Surface chemistry QD 506-508
- Thermochemistry QD 510-511
- Electrochemistry QD 551-571
- Radiation chemistry QD 601-655
- Photochemistry QD 701-731
- Crystallography QD 901-999
Data Tables
Landolt-Börnstein (QC 61 .L3)
This large set of data tables for physics and chemistry has been
published over the past 90+ years. UCSB owns a partial print set (see
the call number above), but the set from 1918-2009 is available online to
UCSB users. The series is divided into broad groupings as follows:
- Group 1: Elementary Particles, Nuclei and Atoms
- Group 2: Molecules and Radicals
- Group 3: Condensed Matter
- Group 4: Physical Chemistry
- Group 5: Geophysics
- Group 6: Astronomy and Astrophysics
- Group 7: Biophysics
- Group 8: Advanced Materials and Technologies
At present, our print copy is in off-campus storage. The online archive may be browsed by the title of individual volumes; there is currently no full-text searching of the online archive.
General Reference Works
Encyclopedia of Chemical Physics and Physical Chemistry - 3 Volume Set by ISBN: 0429143753Publication Date: 2021-06-30
Encyclopedia of Computational Chemistry by Call Number: QD39.3.E46 E53 1998ISBN: 9780471965886Publication Date: 1998-11-18
Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy and Spectrometry, 3rd ed. by ISBN: 0128032251Publication Date: 2016-09-22
Handbook of Molecular Physics and Quantum Chemistry, 3 Volume Set by Call Number: Reference ; QD461 .H25 2003ISBN: 9780471623748Publication Date: 2003-03-07
Springer Handbook of Atomic, Molecular, and Optical Physics by Call Number: QC173 .S67 2006ISBN: 9780387208022Publication Date: 2005-12-12
Catalysis from A to Z by Call Number: Reference ; QD505 .C383 2003ISBN: 9783527303731Publication Date: 2003-10-17
Encyclopedia of Catalysis, by Call Number: Reference ; QD505 .E53 2003ISBN: 0471241830Publication Date: 2002-12-30
Encyclopedia of Surface and Colloid Science by Call Number: Reference ; QD506 .E52 2002ISBN: 9780824706333Publication Date: 2002-07-18
Locating Articles
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new windowNew user? -- The first time you use this database you need to register for an account. Go to the SciFinder Registration Information page to access registration information.
Already have a SciFinder account?: Your UCSB SciFinder username and password will also work for SciFinder-n. Note that your saved searches and Keep Me Posted alerts in SciFinder will not automatically transfer to SciFindern and vice versa. You may need to recreate them.
NOTE: Commercial use of your University account is strictly prohibited.
Database Information: (Note - the SciFinder-n interface is significantly different from the SciFinder interface, and may require practice for effective use even by experienced SciFinder users.)
SciFinder-n provides user friendly interfaces for searching bto the Chemical Abstracts Service databases, including chemical substances, chemical reactions, chemical suppliers and references, with one of the largest collections in each area.
It also provides unique full text access to a large collection of chemical patents via its PatentPak feature. - Web of Science This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science consists of nine databases: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Science Citation Index Expanded for journal aritcles; Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science and Conference Proceedings - Social Sciences and Humanities; Book Citation Index - Science and Book Citation Index - Social Sciences and Humanities; and Current Chemical Reactions and Index Chemicus. Web of Science covers thousands of research journals, and extensive collections of conference proceedings and books. across hundreds of disciplines. Both the science and social sciences journal article files offer searchable author abstracts. All three databases are updated weekly.
