Middle East Studies: More Indexes & Databases

Arabic Union Catalog

Guide to Research in Islamic Art and Architecture  (Harvard Fine Arts Library)

Dissertations & Theses

• Indexes disserations from over 1000 predominantly North American universities.
• Includes dissertations submitted from 1861 to as recently as last semester.
• All citations from 1980 have an abstract. Masters theses with short abstracts are included from 1988

eHRAF World Cultures

• Indexes and supplies text for books, articles, and disserations on cultural studies.
• eHRAF includes only documents indexed since HRAF became an electronic resource in 1994.
• Unfortunately, it may still be necessary to use the microfiche (Microfiche Area H62.H76) if you do not find your culture in eHRAF

Shamaa

• The Arab Educational Information Network (Shamaa) is an online database that documents educational research carried out in Arab countries in all fields of education, in the three languages, Arabic, French and English, providing free access to researchers and those interested in educational research. Shamaa collects educational bibliographic data on books, articles, reports and university dissertations (master's and doctoral) from universities, colleges of education, research centers, publishing houses, journals, ministries and regional and international organizations in the Arab world. Bibliographic reports and abstracts are then prepared and in some cases full texts are made available.

İlahiyat Makaleler Veri Tabanı

• İslam Araştırmaları Merkezı, Türkıye Dıyanet Vakfı  
• Click on ARAMA SAYFASI to access database 
• Articles, with PDFs, on Islamic Studies published by theology faculties in Turkey

Iraqi Academic Scientific Journals (IASJ)

• "IASJ is one platform where all scholarly journals published by the Iraqi universities and research institutions are indexed and discovered. All journals in IASJ are peer-reviewed and open access.
  The main aim of IASJ is to improve the online discoverability and visibility of and access to the published scholarly research of iraqi academics. IASJ will help Iraqi authors to disseminate their research globally.
  At the moment IASJ is launched in a Beta version with only 71 journals published by 18 institutions. The service will be further developed and will cover all journals, more than 200 journals publisher by 40 academic institutions in Iraq."

The Islamic Timeline

• Princeton University

Onomasticon Arabicorum

• From CNRS
• in Arabic
• Database project of more than 15,000 scholars and celebrities from the first Muslim millenium, compiled from ancient biographical dictionaries

MSA-USC Qur'an Database

 Online Hadith Encyclopedia Database

Countries and Their Cultures

• REF GN307.C68 2001

Culture and Customs Series

• Afghanistan, DS351.5 .E53 2005
• Central Asian Republics, DK859.5 .A18 2007
• Egypt, DT70 .A83 2002
• Isreal, GN635.I78 T67 2004
• Jordan, GN635.J6 S56 2006
• Morocco, DT 312 .N57 2006
• Pakistan, GN635.P27 M35 2006
• Palestinians, GN635.P19 F37 2004
• Saudi Arabia, GN635.S28 L66 2005
• Somalia, GN650.S65 A34 2001
• Syria, GN635.S95 S56 2008

The Middle East and North Africa [annual]

• REF DS49.M5 latest vol.

The Muslim Almanac: a Reference Work on the History, Faith, Cultures, and Peoples of the Middle East

• REF BP40.M83 1996

Peoples of the World: the Middle East and North Africa: the Cultures, Geographical Setting, and Historical Background of 30 Peoples of the Middle East and North Africa

• REF DS57.M91 1992

World Survey of Islamic Manuscripts.

• 4 vols. REF BP163.W67 1991